CD Reviews

Indica - 'A Way Away' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     September 22, 2010    
0.0 (0)
7420   0   1   0   0   0





The more I listened to this album, the more it drew me in and I am now a total convert to the band known as Indica.

Well what can I say about Indica apart from the fact I don’t think I have heard a band quite like them! Listening to this album is like being drawn into an amazing dark, gothic, fairytale story which would have probably at a guess been scripted by film favourite Tim Burton.

Indica is a five piece all girl group from Finland which was founded in 2001 by the beautiful Jonsu (vocals, violin, guitar, keyboards, theremin) and Heini (bass) who met at school and along with fellow members Sirkkuu (keyboards, clarinet, piano), Jenny (guitar) and Laura (drums) have gone from strength to strength with two tours supporting ‘Nightwish’ followed by receiving one platinum and two gold discs in Finland with several top-ten singles.
Nightwish boss Holopainen took over the production of this release along with its immediate predecessor ‘Valoissa’ which was released in 2008 and was also co-produced by Roland Spremberg (A-ha, HIM).

‘A Way Away’ showcases a stunning arrangement of classical music mixed with rock and pop influences and is the first album to be released in English.

Providing an upbeat theme ‘Precious Dark’ leaves you feeling like you’re Alice in Wonderland falling and spinning until you feel dizzy. Jonus has such an individual voice which only aids your mind to run away with itself to faraway places.
‘Children Of Frost’ makes you imagine a slightly twisted fairground scene with an evil child-stealing clown sitting down drinking absinth contemplating the lost souls of his victims.

In comes a change of direction with drums that wouldn’t go amiss in a Terrorvision song on the track ‘Scissor, Paper, Rock’. Some slightly heavier vocals and chugging guitars come in at this point too showing the total diversity of this band. Although gotta admit that I have lost the plot with what is going on at this point although enjoying it immensely.

Bringing in an Egyptian feel, ‘As If’ leads you to imagine veiled dancers and Genies causing havoc in fantasy land. Jonsu again changes her vocal style to a grungier sound along with the first and only guitar solo on this album.

‘Eerie Eden’ concludes my ‘trip’ into this interesting new world and sets a refreshing feel of waking up at the crack of dawn on a frosty morning.

At first I wasn’t too sure if I would like this album, but the more I listened, the more it drew me in and I am now a total convert to the band known as Indica and I hope you will be too.

Suzanne Chenery

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  November 2021  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  1  2  3  4  5  6  7
  8  91011121314

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 month ago
  • Deeppurple#1 : Hi,I downloaded my free copy of issue #87 but I can't seem to open the file. Any advice?
  • Berny : RIP Alan Lancaster! :(
  • Berny : @Barneypippa: I forwarded your mail to the Fireworks team. You should receive a reply asap.
  • Barneypippa : My magazine (#96) hasnt arrived yet - should have been here last week
  • Rocktopia Te : @bakerstreetish: Pls. check your email for download instructions.
  • bakerstreeti : Hi, I just bought digital download #96. How will I be able to receive/access it? First time on this site. Thanks!
  • zom414 : Have they been posted out yet? Not received mine yet but may have the release date wrong!
  • Johns Band : Received glossy Fireworks 96 and one of best ever. I am still looking at pictures and "Revisit The Gods AOR Festive" should be great. Probably get download from issue 101 to save on space & it is read to me from audio voice. Already got Robben Ford Instrumental album "Pure" great stuff & Freddy King singing & guitar I love, so Bernie Marsden new album I will have on Amazon Prime. If you are into 70's Rock then new Help Yourself 6 CD Boxset + info will be good for you plus expert to pay no more
  • Berny : Fireworks #96 is out now! :)
  • Berny : @Paul wiv: Pls. check your email!
  • Paul wiv : I have paid for issue 92 but it hasn't downloaded yet.
  • Berny : @Adamson: Bitte kontaktiere mich direkt, meine Mailadresse lautet «email»
  • Adamson : kann man hier auch auf Deutsch schreiben? denn ich hätte eine Frage?
  • KI2000 : Wow, issue #95 has to be the BEST one so far. Congratulations guys!!
  • Hysteria : GREAT MAGAZINE! Keep on rockin' guys!!!
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #95 is out now!
  • Berny : @Paul wiv: Many thanks for your purchase, pls. check your mail.
  • Paul wiv : I have bought issue 89 on download but it has not appeared on my account
  • Berny : @pomper: BOTH of your mails were forwarded to the Fireworks Team, please contact me directly at «email» should you still haven’t received a reply.
  • bpomper : trying to confirm my fireworks 94 order with no answer from team rocktopia??
  • bpomper : i ordered fireworks number 94 but never got a conformation other than my paypal receipt. can you confirm it went out. i have transaction id if you need it
  • Berny : @ALL: Should you have any questions about your Fireworks orders, pls. contact me directly at «email»
  • Berny : Hi @Stuey6666: You are using two user names on Rocktopia. All current orders were assigned to your second account, pls. check your mail again.
  • Stuey6666 : Hi Berny - ordered 4 issues last week - still not arrived - have checked spam etc not there. cheers stu
  • Berny : @Adolfo: I've also just sent you the magazine via WeTransfer. But please check you junk mail folder, the mail was definitely sent earlier today.
  • Berny : Hi @Adolfo: Have you already checked your spam folder? If the mail cannot be found, pls. contact me at «email»
  • Adolfo : «email»
  • Adolfo : My e - mail
  • Adolfo : I don't have any e - mail.
  • Berny : @Adolfo: Pls. check your e - mail for download instructions.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site