CD Reviews

Nubian Rose - 'Mental Revolution' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     February 13, 2015    
0.0 (0)
4218   1   1   0   0   0



One of the best mainstream, Female-Fronted albums of recent years.

Another Fireworks edition and yet another stunning album from a Swedish band for me to review. I have to admit that I was rather surprised that my Editor allowed this out of his grip such is his penchant for Female-Fronted Rock [so many little time – Ed). 'Mental Revolution' is Nubian Rose's sophomore album following the release of their successful, self-financed debut 'Mountain' back in 2012. On '...Revolution' the band has just made everything bigger, louder, heavier and, in every way, better than the debut.

The album kicks off with 'War', an all-out Metal assault, followed by the six-minute epic 'Time Again', a song where the listener first gets to appreciate the amazing production quality, courtesy of guitarist/co-song-writer Christer Åkerlund who is surely going to be in great demand once this album is heard. The fantastic mix is courtesy of Tobias Lindell who has produced albums for fellow Swedish groups such as Europe, Hardcore Superstar and H.e.a.t. The phenomenal drum sound of Thomas Weijnesjö perfectly complements the fine guitar tones of Åkerlund with the focus of the album being naturally around the awesome, vocal talents of Sofia Lilja Åkerlund; however, Åkerlund never plays second fiddle to his wife. All of this would count for nothing if there weren't any decent songs and on '...Revolution' there are ten pearls.

'Illuminated Within' exhibits the controlled power in Lilja Åkerlund's vocals and is one of several songs that has Mats Levén (Candlemass, Krux, Therion) contributing backing vocals. Similar to the opener, 'The Eye' sounds like a female version of the mighty Ronnie James Dio.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

'Tough Guys Don't Dance' gives a cheeky nod to the L.A. Rock scene whilst 'Break Out', the first song to be released from the album, simply pins you up to the wall and rips out your throat!

The second half of the album reverts from Melodic Metal to more traditional Melodic Hard Rock consistency but the quality does not dip and, if anything, improves further; starting with the fantastic AOR-tinged 'Higher', a truly awesome song. The "radio friendly" 'You Will Never Walk Alone' could and should be a monster hit and features keyboards courtesy of guest musician Joakim Ahlund (Caesars, Teddybears). '(Taking This) Further' is another song that could easily be released as a single and oozes class. The album concludes with the sing-a-long 'All Of Your Love' that features the Katarina Kammarkör Choir.

Often when reviewing albums, we reviewers have a tendency to often say that the band show real promise but, rarely is it delivered with such aplomb as Nubian Rose have accomplished with 'Mental Revolution'. I personally think that this album rates alongside Within Temptation's 'The Unforgiving' as the best mainstream, Female-Fronted album of recent years.

Mark Donnelly

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  August 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
       1  2
  3  4  5  6  7  8  9

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 month, 2 weeks ago
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site