CD Reviews

Soen - 'Tellurian' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     February 15, 2015    
0.0 (0)
3758   2   1   0   0   0





A contender for album of the year.

Swedish Progressive Metallers Soen returns with their sophomore album 'Tellurian'. Described in some quarters as a "super-group", the band consists of drummer Martin Lopez (ex Opeth, Amon Amarth), vocalist Joel Ekelof (Willowtree), guitarist Joakim Platbarzdis and bassist Stefan Stenberg who has replaced Steve DiGiorgio.

The album begins with a short instrumental with Latin influences and then thunderous drums and crashing guitars herald the arrival of first single 'Tabula Rasa' which contains lots of complicated riffs and hypnotic vocals from Ekelof, especially during the second half of the song which is more mellow. 'Kuraman' is a cracking track sounding like Dream Theater in parts (shock horror) and again featuring powerful drumming from Lopez. 'The Words' is the closest thing to a ballad on the album and Ekelof's haunting vocals are complimented by Stenberg's Jazzy bass and the song also has some wonderful orchestration.

'Pluton' also has a monstrous intro with drums, guitar and bass producing a really Progressive and powerful sound with a lighter shade during the middle – great song! 'Koniskas' opens with another pronounced bass line from Stenberg and Lopez showers us with more South American fills and amazing time signatures.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

Platbarzdis must get a mention for his exceptional playing throughout, the only complaint I have is that there are no guitar solos, however, that is a minor quibble and does not at all detract from the very high quality of this exceptional piece of work. He also produced 'Tellurian' and with the help of David Bottrill's mixing (Tool, Smashing Pumpkins, Muse, King Crimson) we have a great sounding album with each instrument being allowed to breathe.

'Ennui' contains more great bass work from Stenberg and some awesome riffs from Platbarzdis and Lopez again proves why he is one of the most respected drummers in this genre.

'Void' and 'The Other's Fall' complete the fifty-four minute (where did that go... yes it is that good) album. Both tracks are very Progressive and display how the band's song-writing has developed. They are longer than the rest of the songs, both clocking in between eight and nine minutes and with this extra time the band have the luxury to go in different directions.
A special mention must go to the stunning artwork of Mexican painter Jose Luis Lopez Galvan.

Soen's debut 'Cognitive' was compared to Tool in many quarters and that album had more of an Alternative feel to it. 'Tellurian' is a totally different beast and I feel privileged being able to review it and I'm not sure my scribblings can do it justice. I really can't wait to see where their next album takes us. For me, this is a contender for album of the year*!

Az Chaudhry

(* ... 2014)

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  July 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 3 weeks ago
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site