CD Reviews

Nickelback - 'No Fixed Address' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     February 19, 2015    
0.0 (0)
3899   2   1   0   0   0



There's a sense that 'No Fixed Address' is a manufactured album.

It's hard to believe that this is Nickelback's eighth album and that the Vancouver outfit has been around for almost twenty years, selling thirty million albums in the process. Despite the same perceived hatred afforded to them as Justin Bieber, Nickelback are clearly liked by someone; their success since 'How You Remind Me' proves it.

"Too Pop to Rock" and "too Rock to Pop" is one of the many taglines given to Nickelback. Here lies the genius of the band and Chad Kroeger, they're both; simultaneously churning out lightweight Pop tunes (think 'When We Stand Together') combined with active Rock staples like 'Burn It To The Ground'. But all the songs sound the same right? All the hits are rehashes of 'How You Remind Me' right? Wrong... 'No Fixed Address' is the antithesis of that formulaic perception.

A small change was evident on the ballad heavy 'Here And Now'; perhaps the bands worst since 'The Long Road'. '...Address' goes the whole nine yards highlighting a trend for Rock bands to chance their arm in the Pop genre. But it feels contrived, as if Kroeger has analysed what's current in mainstream Pop music using a computer programme and then copied and pasted all the relevant bits. The Maroon 5-like 'She Keeps Me Up' – a song about cocaine – is an uncomfortable slice of Funk Pop, likewise the horn-led Funk of 'Got Me Running Round' featuring rapper Flo Rida.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

Other clunkers arrive thick and fast in the form of the mawkish 'Satellite' or the even more maudlin 'Miss You'; the faux Country Rock of 'Sister Sin' sounds tired and can't hold a torch to a song like 'This Afternoon'. It's really left to the excellent opener 'Million Miles An Hour' – a typical Nickelback Rocker in the mold of 'This Means War' – the anti-establishment 'Edge Of A Revolution' and 'Get Em Up' (a tongue in cheek song about a botched bank robbery) to identify this as a Nickelback album. The mid-paced staples such as 'Make Me Believe Again', 'The Hammer's Coming Down' and generic single 'What Are You Waiting For?' are decent enough but become tainted by the other dross on offer.

Nickelback perhaps should be congratulated for trying something different but in trying to do so they've tried to be all things to all men and it feels artificial. Trying to capitalise on every music genre is a great business idea but there's a sense that 'No Fixed Address' is a manufactured album; an album that is as far away from the meaningful angst ridden Rock of 'Silver Side Up' as it can be and who's eclectic nature is the stick that its critics will now seek to beat them with rather than laud them.

Mike Newdeck

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  July 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 4 hours, 33 minutes ago
  • RobC68 : where's my digital download that I ordered yesterday as I've still not received it.....pathetic service
  • rockcompany : hi, ordered a bunch of magazines yesterday but still have not received a download. Also the order is not showing in my account?
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site