• JFolder::create: Could not create directory

CD Reviews

Level 10 - 'Chapter One' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     February 19, 2015    
0.0 (0)
4051   1   1   0   0   0





Great singer, great musicians and above all else great songs.

Level 10 came together because of on-the-road meetings between Mat Sinner (bass) and Russell Allen (vocals) whilst touring with their respective bands. During those boring hours you get in between gigs, the two had many conversations that ended up with the two men swearing that someday they would work together on an album – the result being 'Chapter One'. The band and album is rounded out by Sinner's Primal Fear band-mates Randy Black and Alex Beyrodt on drums and guitars respectively, Roland Grapow on guitars and the ever busy Alessandro Del Vecchio on keyboards. Plus, as a bonus, there are also guest appearances from Magnus Karlsson, Carsten Schulz, Sander Gommans and Amanda Somerville.

To the music then and imagine if you will a "less Metal" Primal Fear joined with a "less Metal" Symphony X, plus a lot of Hard Rock influences thrown in for good measure and you won't be very far off the mark as to what's on offer. 'Cry No More' is the perfect song to open, with its melodic structure, great chorus and exceptional performances; you know you can sit back relax and just wait for L10 to entertain you, which they do with consummate ease.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

'Soul Of A Warrior' has a superb vocal effort from Allen and the heavy riffing guitars of Beyrodt and Grapow to complement his work, though the real star of the song is the wonderful Hammond Organ supplied by Del Vecchio which builds and soars throughout the song; again there's another captivating chorus to contend with. You will also find the likes of the hard hitting 'No Turning Back', 'One Way Street' (a Bluesy workout with a slow, almost retro feel and that inevitable stunning Allen vocal), 'Blasphemy' and 'Demonized' (where L10 doing their best Symphony X impressions). That's not to forget 'Last Man On Earth' which has a wicked hook and some stunning guitar interplay and the ballad 'All Hope Is Gone' (which is just spectacular) where you'll find Allen doing what he and only a handful of other vocalists can do, which is going from all out balls to the wall high intensity to heartfelt emotion filled vocals at the click of his fingers. Both are songs you should check out with haste.

Of course due to space I cannot tell you about all the other wonderful music that can be found on this album, so another visit to your favourite retailer looks in order, where once again you can invest in another fantastic Rock release.

Level 10 = great singer, great musicians and above all else great songs... not much more you could ask for really is there? Of course there is, where's Chapter 2?

Ian Johnson

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (1)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  July 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 weeks, 1 day ago
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site