CD Reviews

Revolution Saints - 'Revolution Saints' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     February 26, 2015    
0.0 (0)
4903   2   1   0   0   0



Is this possibly "Album Of 2015" already? Absolutely!!!

The instant I played this album, I realised that I'd just had a Concorde moment... that moment when you experience a perfect second, minute or hour. One that will stay with you forever and Revolution Saints has done that to me each and every time I have played it.

Now as you should all know by now, this album features the immense talents of Doug Aldrich, Jack Blades and Deen Castronovo so I won't dwell on that. What I will say is that out of everything these three musicians have done before, this could easily be their best work and as you all know who they've played with, that's saying something!

Okay I will admit that "yes it does sound a lot like Journey" but seeing as Journey haven't put out anything this good in years, who cares? It isn't just a straight copy of that legendary group however; instead you will find elements of Melodic Rock and classic American Hard Rock nestling within the twelve songs that make up this self-titled album. This is all down to RS secret (well not really) weapon, Alessandro Del Vecchio. He has not only written or co-written all of the songs on the album but also given it a massive, and I do mean MASSIVE, sounding production. It is something that stuns you each time you get to hear it and he really is the unsung star of this release.

As for the actual songs, they say everything you ever could about Melodic Rock/AOR because they easily epitomize all that is excellent about this genre. As you listen to each of the songs, I promise the hairs will stand up on the back of your neck while the goose bumps run wild over your arms; this is always the signal that you're in the presence of something really quite extraordinary.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

'Back On My Trail', first video 'Turn Back Time', 'Locked Out Of Paradise', 'Don't Walk Away' the stunning 'Strangers To This Life', 'How To Mend A Broken Heart' and the gorgeous 'In The Name Of The Father (Fernando's Song)', which is probably the best ballad of the last few years, are all tracks that overwhelm the senses and always leave you wanting and needing more.

There's also the added bonus of these songs being sung by a man whose voice just has to be heard to be believed in Castronovo. We all knew he could sing but wow, he's just incredible on this album and someone should lock up his drums for a while and make him (only) sing more often (with a shotgun if necessary). Thankfully Aldrich, Blades and Del Vecchio aren't too far behind him in their passion and drive for this album and its music either.

Usually about now I'd try to persuade you to buy this album - but what's the point? If you don't buy it then you really don't like Melodic Rock/AOR and you're definitely reading the wrong magazine or website. Is this possibly "Album Of 2015" already? Absolutely!!!

Ian Johnson

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (1)add comment

Dave Harris said:

Sorry to go off topic, but is this the same Ian Johnson I used to work (turn up) at GUS with???
March 17, 2015
Votes: +0

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  August 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
       1  2
  3  4  5  6  7  8  9

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 month, 2 weeks ago
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site