CD Reviews

United Progressive Fraternity - 'Fall In Love With The World' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     March 17, 2015    
0.0 (0)
5514   1   1   0   0   0

A fine debut full of musical treats.

The United Progressive Fraternity (UPF) was borne from the ashes of Australian Prog band Unitopia who released three studio albums of original material but bowed out in 2012 with a fairly pointless covers album. Core members of the fraternity are ex-Unitopia members Matt Williams (guitars), Dave Hopgood (drums), Tim Irrgang (percussion) and driving force Mark Trueack (vocals) with the idea that other players can come and go, contributing as required or available.

On this album Trueack has marshalled the talents of Jon Anderson (ex-Yes), Guy Manning (Manning, The Tangent), Dan Mash (Maschine, The Tangent) and the ubiquitous Steve Hackett, with Anderson's vocal contribution on 'The Water' being one of the album's highlights.

Unitopia were firmly rooted in the Classic Prog genre and while UPF inhabit the same arena, there are certain more contemporary inflections that separates them neatly from that previous entity; mind you with Trueack's distinctive, sonorous vocals they will always be redolent of Unitopia.

The album's title may be a clue to the underlying theme which is Ecology and taking care of our planet; the lyrics certainly leave you in no doubt but fortunately these are wrapped up with beautifully constructed and melodic music with wonderful themes, refrains and choruses.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

In true Prog style the album opens with 'Overture (We Only Have One World)'; it has a Middle Eastern feel (a feature of the album) and a hint of some of Hackett's solo work and sets things up rather nicely. I could imagine it being used at an Olympic Opening Ceremony.

'Choices' carries on the Middle Eastern vibe until the infectious chorus arrives and the tempo and power increases. The track ebbs and flows and moves through several phases including a quiet mid-section where saxophones come to the fore. The sax introduces 'Intersection' on which Trueack excels with his impassioned vocals and another terrific chorus. The contemporary feel I mentioned appears half way through with a frenzied burst of activity before it gets contemplative once again, a pre-cursor to the big finish.

The aforementioned '...Water' puts me in mind of younger Prog bands at the outset while the chorus is superb; 'Don't Look Back – Turn Left' has an initial Steely Dan feel with a pleasing shuffle going on.

The album's epic (its Prog so there has to be one) is the twenty-two minute 'Travelling Man' which ticks most of the Prog boxes including heavier sections that bring the likes of Threshold or Ayreon to mind. The title track's a lovely acoustic ballad (if a tad repetitive) while 'Religion of War' rounds things out in a modern Prog style.

A fine debut full of musical treats.

Gary Marshall

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  August 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
       1  2
  3  4  5  6  7  8  9

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 month, 2 weeks ago
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site