CD Reviews

Battle Beast - 'Unholy Savior' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     April 21, 2015    
0.0 (0)
3438   2   1   0   0   0





In short, an absolute Power Metal monster.

I first came across Battle Beast in 2013 and I absolutely adored them and their self-titled release from the first listen. I quickly became a huge fan of the Finnish Female-Fronted six-piece with their combination of furious progressions, frantic rhythms and wall-paper stripping vocals. It therefore goes without saying, I was as excitable as a child overdosed on E numbers when their latest offering 'Unholy Savior' landed in my inbox... and frankly... I was right to be.

The album erupts in real style with an opening three song salvo that goes straight for the throat. The first of this fantastic trio is the absolute ripper that is 'Lionheart' where the rhythm section bounds along aided by a driven riff and some chants before the chorus explodes with an injection of pace and a catchy, bellowed choral line. There is no chance to catch your breath as the title track follows straight after with more pounding rhythms and a chugging progression that leads to another memorable chorus that is delivered via a mixture of chants and Noora Louhimo yells.

The last of this opening salvo is 'I Want The World... And Everything In It' which, unlike the previous two, is riotous from the very start with its rampaging guitars and gutsy vocals. The chorus is another belter that reminds me of 'Let It Roar' from the last album with some scowled words before Louhimo lets rip with some roars of her own; my word she really does have one hell of a set of lungs.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

The latter half of the album unleashes another favourite song; the eighties-influenced 'Touch In The Night'. The verse features softer vocals, some pulsing synth and a retro driven riff that all converges into an exceedingly infectious chorus. It is a real retro-trip and has me boogieing in my chair every time it comes on. There's also an eighties-inspired slant to the progression of 'Far, Far Away' that also has a chanted chorus and more outrageous wails from Louhimo.

Aside from these tracks there is also the top gear pace of 'Madness' and 'Speed And Danger' that appear mid-album which include plenty of double drumming "madness" and frenzied riffing at top "speed". At the other end of the pace scale there are two beautiful ballads; 'Sea Of Dreams' which appears between the aforementioned pair and 'Angel Cry' which closes out the album.

Battle Beast have delivered a fabulous album that is full of even more cracking riffs and seriously contagious choruses than their last. Both the band and their leading lady are on superb form and this album has every chance of being in my "2015 Top 5". In short, an absolute Power Metal monster!

Dave Scott

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  July 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 hour, 31 minutes ago
  • rockcompany : hi, ordered a bunch of magazines yesterday but still have not received a download. Also the order is not showing in my account?
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site