Magnum - 'The Gathering' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     September 30, 2010    
0.0 (0)
5452   0   1   0   0   0




A joy from start to finish.

The word legend is sometimes used shall we say a little to often and usually wrongly, to describe something or someone who just doesn’t live up to that word. Yet I can with confidence use it to describe the British rock institution called Magnum, a band who for more than thirty years have entertained, enthralled, mesmerized and astounded audiences from around the world, with their unique brand of British pomp rock. To help reinforce the legend tag I’ve used, the band are going to be releasing in the very near future, a five disc compilation of over thirty years worth of remixed, demo, alternate and hard to get live versions of their songs and let me say that if you’re a Magnum fan then your in for a real treat.

The first four discs are made up of studio and live tracks, outtakes and hard to find B-Sides, the discs of course feature some of the obvious tracks that you would expect from Magnum, All Of My Life, Soldier On The Line, The Prize, How Far Jerusalem, Vigilante etc, etc but what you also get on these four CD’s, is alternate, orchestral, rare and different versions of Magnum songs, that all make for a very interesting listening experience. I especially like disc 3 because of all the B-Sides that are on that CD and that’s because I have always been more of an album buyer than a singles one, so I have missed out on quite a few wonderful songs by Magnum that have appeared on their 7 and 12 inch singles. And when you can have songs as good as ‘The Hanging Tree‘, ‘C’est La Vie’ and ‘Maybe Tonight’ as B-Sides then it shows just how good you’re A-Side songs must be. Yet what I really like about this digi-book set is that it is more of a musical history of one of Britain’s best bands, chock full as it is of wonderful music, rather than just another compilation album. Another great thing I found as I listened to the CD’s, was the way I fell once again in love with the music of Magnum, and realised that in Tony Clarkin, we have one of rock music’s (or should that just be music’s) best writers. A man whose work has evolved and matured with each passing year, getting stronger and more confident with each new album and in the end showing him to be one of rock music’s finest and most consistent songwriters.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

The final disc contains a 14 track live CD recorded by the band at the Hammersmith Odeon in 1988, and it’s a superb live set from Magnum. They sound like they are having a ball as they blast through ‘Vigilante‘, ‘Lonely Night‘, ‘Don’t Wake The Lion‘, ‘Sacred Hour’ and many more. Finally if you needed another reason to buy this digi-book, it must be because of the way that it has been packaged. Beautiful new cover artwork from long time collaborator Rodney Matthews, extensive liner notes by (that other UK rock legend) Dave Ling, and to top this all off, a sixty-page booklet with new photos of the band and rare shots of band memorabilia that have never before been seen.

A real must have if you're a fan of old but also a great place to start if you haven't had the pleasure of making Magnum's acquaintance before (tut, tut where have you been?). A joy from start to finish.

Ian Johnson.

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  April 2019  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  1  2  3  4  5  6  7
  8  91011121314

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 month, 1 week ago
  • Hombre 444 : Got mine reading it now,best Rock Mag out on Market by far.
  • Berny : Fireworks #86 is out now!
  • Johns Band : Happy New year Everyone. Will the music film return.
  • Rocktopia Te : The Rocktopia Team would like to wish you a Merry Christmas! :)
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #85 is out now!
  • Berny : @Bill24: Please follow the instructions at «link» or contact me directly at «email»
  • Bill24 : I cannot unzip the mp3's asking for a password. Same one I use to login with? Please someone help. Thanks.
  • SeaDog57 : thanks Berny
  • Berny : The FREE PDF version of Fireworks #82 is still available, including 88 (!!) bonus MP3 songs Just click on the banner on top of the site. Already 800+ downloads and counting!
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: Apologies! Link was fixed, CD 84 is now available from the FIREWORKS menu on top of the page (for registered members only). Thanks & best wishes, B :)
  • SeaDog57 : Doesn't seem to be a download for bonus cd 84 just 2 identical versions of Bonus CD 83?
  • Rocktopia Te : Interviews with Lordi, Dee Snider, W.A.S.P., Myles Kennedy and many more. Check out the Fireworks & Rocktopia interview sections!
  • Berny : We are proud to premiere the new lyric video by MASS! Check out the news section.
  • Berny : Hi biggywiggymusic: Sorted out, apologies for the delay.
  • biggywiggymu : Hi I just ordered download of 84 - took my PayPal and then it said I didn't pay. Have the transaction number. Can someone help?
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #84 is out now!!
  • amcc1888 : Thanks Berny
  • Berny : @amcc1888: Please check your mail. Many thanks, B.
  • amcc1888 : Hi There i have ordered Fireworks Issue 83 and paid by PayPal but you have charged me twice but the download has not appeared in my account...also sent you a web contact message..anyone there to help me thanks Tony
  • Berny : We proudly present the new lyric video by AMERICAN TEARS, pls. check out our newsfeed!
  • Rocktopia Te : There are now 500 live reviews on Rocktopia! Check out the latest ones, incl. Iron Maiden, Steven Tyler and Steelhouse Festival 2018!
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Purchases were added to your account. Sorry for the troubles, not sure why you are still having issues with the DL store. Pls. check your mail. Many thanks & best wishes, B.
  • Transmet1972 : Sent another email re new purchase. Same download issue. Thanks.
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Support received your message, I already sent a reply.
  • Transmet1972 : Site wont allow me to send ticket to support.
  • Transmet1972 : I cant access the files for 2 downloadable mags i purchased. Site wint
  • Graham : Hi guys i wonder if anyone knows what happend to Greg Parker who formed the band Ozz that released 2 Lps in 1980,
  • Berny : HEAVEN'S TRAIL premiere their new lyric video on Rocktopia. Check out the news section ... «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : @Berny did another lyric video for ROYAL HUNT. Pls. check out our news aection and watch the video on YouTube ... «link»
  • Hysteria : @ Rocktopia Team: GREAT SONG & VIDEO!!! Thanks for sharing!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site