CD Reviews

Ozone - 'Self Defence' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     October 02, 2015    
0.0 (0)
1630   0   1   0   0   0






Great songs, great production, great musicianship plus Ousey and Overland – just BUY!

With Chris Ousey (Virginia Wolf, Heartland, Snakecharmer) and Steve Overland (FM) on vocals, Mike Slamer (Seventh Key) on guitars, bass and keyboards, Tommy Denander (Radioactive) on guitars, Ronnie Platt (Kansas) & Billy Greer (Kansas, Seventh Key) on backing vocals, Kerry Denton (Mother's Finest) on drums, Erik Sabo on the Hammond B3 and the late Christian Wolff (Overland) on guitars and keyboards, Ozone has arrived. And let's face it, do you need to know anymore because those names kind of say it all – quality!

Maybe my thoughts on this album will be superfluous this time around but for what they're worth, let me say that Ozone are as good as you think they must be. With musical performances straight out of the top drawer, songs full of gigantic and instantly memorable hooks, a production from Slamer that is just sublime and two of the best singers this country has to offer, what's not to like?

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

Surprisingly, and what I do like most about this album, is the fact that the two singers voices blend together so well; Ousey and Overland never see the need to try to outshine or outdo each other and are content instead to make each track the best that they can make it. Strictly speaking however, this isn't a duets album. Instead the two vocalist trade vocal lines, singing straight from their hearts and sounding at all times like they are having a real blast while doing so.

As for favourite songs, all I can say is – "oh come on that's just too hard". But for the record what about 'Tiger By The Tail', 'Let The Good Will Out', 'So Blind', 'Destiny', 'Shadow On The Sun', 'Save My Soul', 'Evolve', 'Self Defence', 'Smile Before You Lie', 'Lifetime', 'Practice What You Preach' or 'Visionary Man'. I appreciate and recognize the fact that is a list of every track on the album but each one is so good (in my honest opinion) that picking out just a few would be just wrong.

If there ever was a no brainer of a release then this really is it. Great songs, great production, great musicianship plus Ousey and Overland – just BUY!

Ian Johnson

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  January 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  1  2  3  4  5  6  7
  8  91011121314

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 week, 6 days ago
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us