CD Reviews

HammerFall - 'No Sacrifice, No Victory' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     October 01, 2010    
0.0 (0)
5842   0   1   0   0   0



HammerFall are back and they sound just as good as ever.

If we discount the ‘Masterpieces’ set which was essentially a compilation of covers paying tribute to some of their heroes, it’s been more than two years since we had a brand new studio album from Swedish power metal masters HammerFall. Since that time, their seemingly impermeable ranks have undergone a couple of changes. Bassist Magnus Rosén was the first to leave in early 2007 (his replacement being original bassist Fredrik Larsson), with guitarist Stefan Elmgren jumping ship last year to pursue a full time career as a commercial airline pilot.

I must admit that Stefan’s departure came as a bit of a surprise given how well he and fellow guitarist Oscar Dronjak seemed to work together, although having said that, after just one cursory spin of new album ‘No Sacrifice, No Victory’, his replacement Pontus Norgren (The Poodles) has certainly succeeded in filling the gap!

Much as I respect and admire HammerFall, I’m still inclined to think that the band peaked with 2002’s shimmering ‘Crimson Thunder’ opus, the brooding power metal of yore expertly infused with a level of grandeur and sophistication few had previously thought possible. Since then, it’s been something of a backwards step (in a positive way of course) as the band strove to rediscover their musical roots, although I’ll be the first to concede that 2006’s ‘Threshold’ release actively sought to meld the exuberance of the early days with the songwriting dynamics of the aforementioned ‘Crimson Thunder’. And, with this latest release, they’ve just gotten one step closer.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

First of all, regardless as to what level of input he had to the songwriting process, Pontus Norgren seems to have had quite an impact on the guitar sound as there are now some decidedly Malmsteenesuqe moments which simply weren’t there before. Secondly, whilst there are still plenty of those up-tempo, riff driven, post Helloween power metal outings on offer, these are now tempered by an increasingly adventurous side to the writing which makes for an altogether rounded listening experience – just check out the brooding ‘Between Two Worlds’ and you’ll see what I mean! Add in a broader range of tempos and a crunching production job (thanks to Charlie Bauerfiend), and songs like ‘Legion’, ‘One Of A Kind’, ‘Something For The Ages’ (a surging instrumental with some amazing guitar work!) and ‘Hallowed Be Thy Name’ make this easily the best HammerFall set for some time.

Not too sure why they chose to include the cover of ‘My Sharona’ at the end as it doesn’t really fit with the rest of the album, but based on the assumption that it was a bit of fun added as a bonus, I’m not about to let it detract from what is an otherwise exemplary effort on their part.

Make no mistake, HammerFall are back, and with ‘No Sacrifice, No Victory’, they sound just as good as ever!


Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  September 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
   1  2  3  4  5  6
  7  8  910111213

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 day, 8 hours ago
  • Berny : @rgilman: Please check your e - mail for download instructions.
  • rgilman : Hello I bought the Deep Purple issue how do I download it? Thanks
  • Berny : @jharper36: Please check your e - mail.
  • jharper36 : Hi, i purchased the download of issue #92. How do I download it?
  • Berny : @loudjlopez: Sorry for the troubles, pls. check your mail. Many thanks!
  • loudjlopez@m : Any word on my digital download of issue 91. Paid on Saturday. It is Tuesday. Thanks
  • loudjlopez@m : Paid for Fireworks #91 for digital download. No word since Saturday and it is Monday.
  • Berny : @fdr: Magazines were sent on Monday. Thanks for your purchase and best regards, B. :)
  • fdr : Hi, yesterday (august 12th) I sent you a payment for 21GBP for the purchase of issues 91 and 82 of Fireworks magazine. (code 7D3182072X778721A) but still haven't received a word od confirmation. Can you please check?
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site