CD Reviews

Royal Hunt - 'XIII: Devil's Dozen' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     October 17, 2015    
0.0 (0)
2873   0   1   0   0   1



An excellent record with a magnificent production.

For those amongst you who know Royal Hunt, I don't have to explain that this massive-sounding, virtuous and innovative group of high-class musicians are always good for a surprise. Only about twenty months after their last release 'A Life To Die For', they are back with a vengeance. Their thirteenth studio-album 'XIII Devil's Dozen' arrives with two innovations.

The first is their pledge campaign; the band decided to give their fans the opportunity to be even closer to their "heroes" by offering them first-hand information, a direct dialogue with the members and – of course – limited edition merchandise in return for their financial support (for more, see my interview with André Andersen elsewhere in this issue*).

The second and biggest surprise for me was the album's sound since RH's mixture of rather classical Progressive Rock with orchestral elements has now became much heavier and more Symphonic Metal-influenced. My guess that it could've been linked to the latest line-up change – Allan Sørensen's changed drum-seats with Andreas Habo Johansson (ex-Narnia) – was proved by Anderson and it isn't for the worse.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

'...Dozen' kicks off with a rather RH-typical 'So Right, So Wrong', it's pretty heavy with lots of hidden Progressive elements and a very nice chorus; this would certainly make an ideal opener for future shows! 'May You Never (Walk Alone)' and 'Heart On A Platter' sound similar to the opener, yet heavier, more double bass-influenced and deeper routed in Symphonic Metal. Still, the arrangements were written with a lot of attention to detail and DC Cooper's brilliant vocal abilities give each song a unique touch.

'A Tear In The Rain' is much "darker" with a massive keyboard sound and a very catchy melody. It's as equally strong as 'Until The Day' which shows off the skills of every single band member at their best. 'Riches To Rags' blew me away with a very Folky beginning which evolves into a high-voltage Metal feast. 'Way Too Late' is a Modern Rock piece with a big shot of RH ingenuity that reminded me immediately of 'Running Out Of Tears' and therefore will probably become one of my favourites alongside bonus offering 'How Do You Know' which is simply a KILLER track – no more words needed.

I have to be honest and say my first impression of 'XIII Devil's Dozen' wasn't too good. The heavier, "very drum-based" sound and different mix didn't go straight into my head. But having listened to this release a couple of times on several different devices, I am strongly convinced that this is an excellent record with a magnificent production which will be enjoyed like a five-star, eight course meal by each of you who appreciates that Royal Hunt loathe musical stagnation.

Julia Braun

(* ... of Fireworks Magazine #71)

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  April 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 days, 22 hours ago
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???
  • Berny : @tomandpam: Many thanks for your purchase. The download instructions were sent yesterday, please contact me at «email» should you haven't received the email.
  • tomandpam : I paid for a download on issue 89 and didn't receive the download. Please let me know when I can get it. Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Fireworks Magazine #89 will be available at selected UK based newsagents on December 16th. The digital version can already be purchased in our Download Store.
  • zom414 : When's the next mag due for release?
  • Berny : @el nowy: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. Pls. check your mail!
  • el nowy : Hi, how long does it take for my download license to be available? I purchased it 3 days ago. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @l.thijs: Apologies for the delay, your digital copy can now be downloaded from your "My Downloads" section.
  • l.thijs : Hi Fireworks Magazine. I made a purchase on 10 nov and I paid by Paypall. I bought the #85 fireworks mag download for GBP3,50. But I didn,t receive anything. Please can you find out what's going on?
  • kazooba : I have digital versions of every issue from 27 thru 88, any way I can get issues 1 - 26 with cd's digitally?
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: The links are in the Fireworks menu. Have you tried scrolling down? Maybe your screen size is too small...
  • SeaDog57 : Berny; there are only links up to Fireworks 86. Which is kinda strange because i already downloaded CD 87 but i'm looking for the link to CD 88...Chris
  • Rocktopia Te : @Johns Band: Can you please contact us here: «email»
  • Johns Band : Fireworks Magazine 88 did not arrive by post. paid by PayPal. Any Suggestion.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site