CD Reviews

Royal Quest - 'The Tale Of Man' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     October 27, 2015    
0.0 (0)
8186   0   1   0   0   0





Overall this is very disappointing.

Pretty much the brainchild of one Yannis Androulakakis from Athens, Greece – a composer, arranger and classically-trained musician whose services seem quite in demand in theatre as well as Jazz and soundtrack-based music – Androulakakis originally formed Royal Quest alongside bassist Dennis Bekatoros back in 1998 and their first demo saw the light of day the following year. Inspired by the tales of 'The Eternal Champion' – a character that features in multiple novels across the board by Michael Moorcock – an epic fantasy Metal opera was conceived by the two musicians. But after many years of playing around with the concept and false starts, and also having enlisted Odysseas (potentially nicknamed after an ancient Greek hero) to play drums, Bekatoros bailed.

And it was probably just as well. Starting from scratch around five years ago Androulakakis has built up an overly ambitious project with himself handling all the guitars and programming and utilising three separate vocalists and a violinist. The end result is a messy, convoluted yet original mini Metal Opera that had great potential but is ultimately unsatisfying.

The four main protagonists are Androulakakis himself as the "Lord Of Chaos", Vasilis Axiotis as "Man", Angeliki Frangos as "Cassandra" and the curiously named Basil as "Lord Of Law". Of course chaos and law are part of the struggle for the Eternal Champion in Moorcock's novels and Androulakakis might have been better served doing a Fantasy Opera that's based on Elric Of Melnibone which would at least have been a more familiar tale for fans given Metal music and fantasy literature tend to overlap on many levels amongst people.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

Of course if the music was first rate most fans would overlook the concept and lyrical ideas but even though the original players (including violinist Kalliopi Mitropoulou) are very good musicians and singers, the structure and pacing are clumsy and over dramatic in places.

'The Reign Of Law' is one such piece where Frangos' lyrics sound very forced and don't fit the musical timing whilst 'Dark Lord's Words' seems to have so many musical ideas planned for it that it descends into a very dramatic mess of guitars, drums and Classical overlay. The drumming overall is fabulous but you have to wonder whether it's very clever programming by Androulakakis or were Odysseas' parts kept from earlier; or did Androulakakis utilise the talents of Mirkko DeMaio who's involved in the Vivaldi Metal Project that Androulakakis is involved in as an arranger, as no drummer is listed. For my part I'm sticking to a human drummer as there are too many fills and broken up beats for it not to be so.

The mixing by acclaimed Mika Jussila is as you would expect, but overall this is very disappointing.

Carl Buxton

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  August 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
       1  2
  3  4  5  6  7  8  9

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 month, 3 weeks ago
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site