CD Reviews

Ugly Kid Joe - 'Uglier Than They Used Ta Be' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     December 08, 2015    
0.0 (0)
4374   0   1   0   0   0




A damn fine Rock album.

The early nineties single 'Everything About You' has been both a blessing and a curse for Ugly Kid Joe. Undoubtedly it got them on the map, and a double platinum album and EP is not to be sniffed at, however the song's enduring popularity and video has left the band with an image as "surfer brats" that's hard to shake.

However, anyone with a pair of ears can see that UKJ has moved on. In fact, the band always released different types of material from very heavy and Rap to Funk Metal and soulful ballads; not just Pop Nu-Metal, although only the latter got real airplay. As such they have been unfairly typecast, victims of their own success. They don't belong just in one box and deserve a second look with fresh eyes. These guys can play and Whitfield Crane has a great voice, much too good to be used for simply shouting Rap style lyrics (listen to old track 'Slower Than Nowhere' for example).

A lot better than its predecessor, the brand new album shows their versatility and talent. It's a damn fine Rock album and stands up to scrutiny on its own merit with no need for the competent covers of songs like 'Ace Of Spades' which have been added at the end. No doubt the band have added a couple of covers for fun and because of their legacy of doing live covers by Black Sabbath; maybe they should have the confidence to just go with their own original material, as it's quality stuff.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

Openers 'Hell Ain't Hard to Find' and 'Let the Record Play' are great songs, commercial but still heavy. If the band were the Foo Fighters they would no doubt get a lot of play. 'Bad Seed' is heavier, almost like Black Label Society, with blistering, soaring guitar and again shows that Crane can turn his voice to just about any style with good results.

'Mirror Of The Man' is a downturn in tempo and doesn't stand up quite so well, however we're soon back to the superb guitar riffs of 'She's Already Gone'. 'Nothing Ever Changes' is reflective, a beautiful, if sad ballad which fully justifies its place. 'My Old Man' is catchy and original with insistently rhythmic lyrics backed with fine guitar whilst 'Under The Bottom' is the final original song and is more like an Ozzy Osbourne/Zakk Wylde song (shredding-akimbo) than anything you would associate with these former Hollywood brats.

The band have grown up. Will they ever shed the old image short of a change of name? It's hard to know, but they have a shot at it if they keep making great material like this. Listen, you may be surprised!

Dawn Osborne

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  January 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 week, 2 days ago
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???
  • Berny : @tomandpam: Many thanks for your purchase. The download instructions were sent yesterday, please contact me at «email» should you haven't received the email.
  • tomandpam : I paid for a download on issue 89 and didn't receive the download. Please let me know when I can get it. Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Fireworks Magazine #89 will be available at selected UK based newsagents on December 16th. The digital version can already be purchased in our Download Store.
  • zom414 : When's the next mag due for release?
  • Berny : @el nowy: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. Pls. check your mail!
  • el nowy : Hi, how long does it take for my download license to be available? I purchased it 3 days ago. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @l.thijs: Apologies for the delay, your digital copy can now be downloaded from your "My Downloads" section.
  • l.thijs : Hi Fireworks Magazine. I made a purchase on 10 nov and I paid by Paypall. I bought the #85 fireworks mag download for GBP3,50. But I didn,t receive anything. Please can you find out what's going on?
  • kazooba : I have digital versions of every issue from 27 thru 88, any way I can get issues 1 - 26 with cd's digitally?
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: The links are in the Fireworks menu. Have you tried scrolling down? Maybe your screen size is too small...
  • SeaDog57 : Berny; there are only links up to Fireworks 86. Which is kinda strange because i already downloaded CD 87 but i'm looking for the link to CD 88...Chris
  • Rocktopia Te : @Johns Band: Can you please contact us here: «email»
  • Johns Band : Fireworks Magazine 88 did not arrive by post. paid by PayPal. Any Suggestion.
  • Berny : @bpomper: Can you pls. contact the Rocktopia team here: «email»
  • bpomper : i found the problem..old email i can not access.i have tried to change it by editing my info but it wont allow. any suggestions
  • Berny : @bpomper: A reply was sent yesterday, We recommend checking your spam/junk mail to see if our message was filtered there. The magazine was already sent to your shipping address. Please let me know if you do not receive it within the next couple of days. Thanks for your patience!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site