CD Reviews

Orange Outlaw - 'Desert Wolf' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     December 26, 2015    
0.0 (0)
1241   0   1   0   0   0





A tight, well-mixed Hard Rock album with a definite Metal spirit.

'Desert Wolf' is a howling headlong rush of thumping riffs and screeching solos and proof that the Dutch Rock scene is indeed in good working order, in case you were wondering. Orange Outlaw, a quartet formed in 2012, has packed as much guitar into their debut album as they can manage. Some of it's ferocious, some of it is melodic, and some of it just doesn't quite fit.

Tracks like 'Point Of No Return' and 'Getting Paranoid' stand out for their chunky, earthy bass riffs and flashes of infectious guitar. The album is about pace and over-accentuated guitars from start to finish. 'Nobody Wants Me Tonight' has a light, Country-like feel to it; this band isn't afraid to lean out the lines and really add some diversity to their record. Vocalist Sven Cornelissen especially seems to suit this lilting, melodic tone, closing the track out with some style.

'Mary Jeane' adds in a touch of the sex appeal of Glam. It's buzzing with beat and the vocals are stamped with attitude in a way that doesn't shine through elsewhere. The way guitarist Dirkjan de Wit cracks out pacey fillers during the verses really fits with OO's energetic approach. The heavier tracks have a tendency to overdo the guitar work; it bleeds out over the song and the main trajectory of the track gets lost in sidling up and down the finger-board. They're at their best when they're concise and thundering, and keep it catchy.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

'To Me You're Done' epitomises the punchy riff; it's strong and focused and gives the paired down verse something to contrast with. As usual, the guitar goes wandering but it's one of the tighter tracks of the album. Equally, 'Your Game Is Killing Me' works because it's one of the few tracks on the album less than four minutes. The headlong pace might be just as fast as the others but packed into those three and a half minutes, it has so much more purpose and urgency. Even the solo has a new ferocity about it.

Overall it's a tight, well-mixed Hard Rock album with a definite Metal spirit. Sometimes it feels like Orange Outlaw has found their sound but not quite their direction, something each song seems to try and explore. Some work, some don't.

Sophie Brownlee

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  January 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  1  2  3  4  5  6  7
  8  91011121314

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 week, 6 days ago
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us