Kamelot - 'Poetry For The Poisoned' Hot
Written by Central Electronic Brain     October 20, 2010    
0.0 (0)
7511   0   1   0   0   0




Too early to tell if it'll have the impact or longevity of ‘The Black Halo', but for now it's enough to know that it just might.

It's actually been a remarkable journey that Florida's Kamelot have embarked upon since hooking up with Norwegian singer Roy Khan, growing from their humble power metal beginnings to being genre-spanning icons with complex arrangements and their own unique sound. It’s been three long years since Kamelot’s last outing ‘Ghost Opera’, which despite being a strong album with some fine individual songs, sadly failed to match the majesty of their epic 2005 opus ‘The Black Halo’, which summed up the symphonic, progressive and power metal genres in one complex package. They just seemed to get everything right with that release and almost every track became a live favourite, but it was almost like it could also become a millstone around their necks. On ‘Poetry For The Poisoned’ they’ve taken another leap forward with even more adventurous arrangements and the occasional use of industrial sounding loops and samples, but it still sounds like the Kamelot we know and love.

From the opening strains of ‘The Great Pandemonium’ it’s obvious that the band are thinking in panoramic terms with even bigger dynamics and a more dramatic delivery, Khan’s rich tenor augmented by operatic female vocals and the death growls of Soilwork’s Bjorn ‘Speed’ Strid, whilst the music ebbs and flows from powerful riffs to beautiful orchestral melodies and back again. Basically it’s everything Kamelot are about condensed into one song. The modern samples make their presence felt amongst the ensuing tempo changes of the eastern-tinged ‘If Tomorrow Came’, and the raw vocals that duet with Khan on the majestic light and shade of ‘The Zodiac’ are none other than Jon Oliva.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

One of many highlights would have to be ‘Hunter’s Season’ with its memorable chorus, Casey Grillo’s double-bass drum work and manic guest solo from Firewind/Ozzy guitar virtuoso Gus G., but even that is eclipsed by the duet between Khan and Epica’s Simone Simons on the simply wonderful ‘House On A Hill’. There’s plenty more where that came from with ‘Necropolis’ riding on a slower stomping rhythm and dual vocal parts, the haunting female vocals of Amanda Somerville on ‘My Train Of Thoughts’ and the four part epic title track, which covers more ground musically than most metal bands do in their entire careers. The album ends in typical Kamelot style with the memorable ‘Once Upon A Time’, which is actually one of the few tracks that hit me immediately, some of the others only started to sink in after a few plays, but for me that’s generally a good sign.

With ‘PFTP’ guitarist Thomas Youngblood and Roy Khan have written an album that vies with ‘The Black Halo’ as the definitive Kamelot CD, and whilst it may lag behind its predecessor in originality (some of its melody lines and riffs may be just a little too familiar for long time Kamelot fans!), it more than makes up for it in sheer scale and grandiose execution. Long-time producer Sascha Paeth has skillfully put together an amazing number of different sounds and created a powerful whole that takes the Kamelot sound into the next decade. It’s too early to tell if it’ll have the impact or longevity of ‘The Black Halo’, but for now it’s enough to know that it just might.

Phil Ashcroft

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Powered by JReviews

Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  May 2022  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  2  3  4  5  6  7  8

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 month, 4 weeks ago
  • Berny : @bpomper: Could you pls. contact me at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • bpomper : if i bought the hard copy can i also download and if so how
  • bpomper : im checking to make sure my fireworks #98 was sent out transaction ending in 1241
  • Berny : @all: The download version of Fireworks #98 is available!
  • Berny : @RobC68: We really seem to share a love & hate relationship, right? ;) Pls. check your mail.
  • RobC68 : still waiting for download version of #98 to be available.....pathetic service
  • Berny : @iangreenfiel: The magazine is available in a number of WH Smith branches. Could you pls. contact me at «email» ? I will then send you the latest list of participating stores.
  • iangreenfiel : Can issue 97 only be ordered online? I've tried several branches of WHSmith and had no luck
  • Berny : @vialli999: I've just talked to the guys at Fireworks HQ, unfortunately, the print copy of #90 is no longer available. Sorry! :(
  • vialli999 : forget that last comment i found it....der
  • vialli999 : sorry but i must be really stupid how do i take out a subscription ?
  • vialli999 : I have the download i want a paper copy cheers tel
  • Berny : @vialli999: You get issue 90 from our download store. Would you like to purchase a physical copy?
  • Berny : You can pre - order FIREWORKS MAGAZINE #97 now!
  • Deeppurple#1 : Hi,I downloaded my free copy of issue #87 but I can't seem to open the file. Any advice?
  • Berny : RIP Alan Lancaster! :(
  • Berny : @Barneypippa: I forwarded your mail to the Fireworks team. You should receive a reply asap.
  • Barneypippa : My magazine (#96) hasnt arrived yet - should have been here last week
  • Rocktopia Te : @bakerstreetish: Pls. check your email for download instructions.
  • bakerstreeti : Hi, I just bought digital download #96. How will I be able to receive/access it? First time on this site. Thanks!
  • zom414 : Have they been posted out yet? Not received mine yet but may have the release date wrong!
  • Johns Band : Received glossy Fireworks 96 and one of best ever. I am still looking at pictures and "Revisit The Gods AOR Festive" should be great. Probably get download from issue 101 to save on space & it is read to me from audio voice. Already got Robben Ford Instrumental album "Pure" great stuff & Freddy King singing & guitar I love, so Bernie Marsden new album I will have on Amazon Prime. If you are into 70's Rock then new Help Yourself 6 CD Boxset + info will be good for you plus expert to pay no more
  • Berny : Fireworks #96 is out now! :)
  • Berny : @Paul wiv: Pls. check your email!
  • Paul wiv : I have paid for issue 92 but it hasn't downloaded yet.
  • Berny : @Adamson: Bitte kontaktiere mich direkt, meine Mailadresse lautet «email»
  • Adamson : kann man hier auch auf Deutsch schreiben? denn ich hätte eine Frage?
  • KI2000 : Wow, issue #95 has to be the BEST one so far. Congratulations guys!!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site