C.O.P. UK - 'No Place For Heaven' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     January 23, 2016    
0.0 (0)
4495   0   1   0   0   0






This could well be my "Top Album Of 2016": Sheer Magnificence.

'No Place For Heaven' is the third album from the Sheffield-based band also known as Crimes Of Passion. Some changes are afoot with new guitarist Andrew Mewse and bassist Scott Jordan joining the nucleus of vocalist Dale Radcliffe, guitarist Charles Staton and drummer Kev Tonge that recorded previous album 'To Die For' in 2012. In addition, the sound has been augmented with the addition of a keyboard player, namely Jaded Heart, Circle II Circle and Tramp's White Lion man Henning Wanner, enabling the arrangements to carefully develop and shine anew.

With that said, the biggest change comes with the sound. Traditionally a Melodic Heavy Metal band built on a British Steel foundation like their home city, this new material has a strong European influence, enhanced by Sascha Paeth's excellent production, and perhaps swayed by endless tours throughout the Mainland with the likes of Edguy and Helloween; it's here where C.O.P. UK have found their biggest audience. Anyone familiar with previous C.O.P. material will hear in the likes of 'The Core' and the relentless Metal of 'Halo' how their traditional Brit Metal sound has been imbued with this European character, to great effect.

Yet elsewhere, C.O.P. have subtly taken their foot off the gas just a little, slightly curbing the Metal-edge attack and easing back on Kev Tonge's predominantly double-bass drum approach. This slight adjustment has enabled the melodies to permeate through their sound and emerge fully to the fore like never before, yet not to the detriment of their dynamics and power.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

The pacey, riff-driven Hard Rocker 'Catch Me If You Can', the dramatic 'Take It To The Grave', 'My Blood', 'Burn Hell' and the swirling-keyboard dominated 'One In A Million' manage to amalgamate huge sing-along choruses with stunning, muscular Metal rhythms, in a very similar style to how Eclipse and Pretty Maids blend melody and power. However, dazzling first single 'Kiss Of An Angel' is absolutely brimming with memorable, classy melodies throughout its six minutes of pure Melodic AOR brilliance.

The three, surprisingly tender, ballads signify just how confident C.O.P. are with their new approach, 'No Man's Land' gently building from a subtle beginning into a dynamic Power-Ballad with a soaring chorus, the beautifully constructed 'Stranger Than Fiction' a true lighter-waving anthem, while the elegant 'No Place For Heaven' works especially well as a duet, performed with German female singer Cloudy Lang (Avantasia).

Unlike Mainland Europe, the UK has yet to wake up to the allure of C.O.P. UK; with 'No Place For Heaven' that has to change. If you think you already know them, then think again. Even though it's released in January, I'll wager this could well be my "Top Album Of 2016". Sheer Magnificence.

Ant Heeks

Click HERE to read an interview with C.O.P. UK, courtesy of Fireworks Magazine.

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  December 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
       1  2
  3  4  5  6  7  8  9

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 3 weeks ago
  • Berny : @Bill24: Please follow the instructions at «link» or contact me directly at «email»
  • Bill24 : I cannot unzip the mp3's asking for a password. Same one I use to login with? Please someone help. Thanks.
  • SeaDog57 : thanks Berny
  • Berny : The FREE PDF version of Fireworks #82 is still available, including 88 (!!) bonus MP3 songs Just click on the banner on top of the site. Already 800+ downloads and counting!
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: Apologies! Link was fixed, CD 84 is now available from the FIREWORKS menu on top of the page (for registered members only). Thanks & best wishes, B :)
  • SeaDog57 : Doesn't seem to be a download for bonus cd 84 just 2 identical versions of Bonus CD 83?
  • Rocktopia Te : Interviews with Lordi, Dee Snider, W.A.S.P., Myles Kennedy and many more. Check out the Fireworks & Rocktopia interview sections!
  • Berny : We are proud to premiere the new lyric video by MASS! Check out the news section.
  • Berny : Hi biggywiggymusic: Sorted out, apologies for the delay.
  • biggywiggymu : Hi I just ordered download of 84 - took my PayPal and then it said I didn't pay. Have the transaction number. Can someone help?
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #84 is out now!!
  • amcc1888 : Thanks Berny
  • Berny : @amcc1888: Please check your mail. Many thanks, B.
  • amcc1888 : Hi There i have ordered Fireworks Issue 83 and paid by PayPal but you have charged me twice but the download has not appeared in my account...also sent you a web contact message..anyone there to help me thanks Tony
  • Berny : We proudly present the new lyric video by AMERICAN TEARS, pls. check out our newsfeed!
  • Rocktopia Te : There are now 500 live reviews on Rocktopia! Check out the latest ones, incl. Iron Maiden, Steven Tyler and Steelhouse Festival 2018!
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Purchases were added to your account. Sorry for the troubles, not sure why you are still having issues with the DL store. Pls. check your mail. Many thanks & best wishes, B.
  • Transmet1972 : Sent another email re new purchase. Same download issue. Thanks.
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Support received your message, I already sent a reply.
  • Transmet1972 : Site wont allow me to send ticket to support.
  • Transmet1972 : I cant access the files for 2 downloadable mags i purchased. Site wint
  • Graham : Hi guys i wonder if anyone knows what happend to Greg Parker who formed the band Ozz that released 2 Lps in 1980,
  • Berny : HEAVEN'S TRAIL premiere their new lyric video on Rocktopia. Check out the news section ... «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : @Berny did another lyric video for ROYAL HUNT. Pls. check out our news aection and watch the video on YouTube ... «link»
  • Hysteria : @ Rocktopia Team: GREAT SONG & VIDEO!!! Thanks for sharing!
  • Rocktopia Te : EXCLUSIVE Guild Of Ages music video premiere! Check out «link» ! Did you like the video? Please send us your comments!
  • Berny : Check out the new live reviews: http;//
  • Berny : Download Fireworks #82 for FREE, incl. all 88 songs and the bonus magazine. Just go to "Free Downloads" in the TOP menu. : - >
  • Berny : Fireworks #83 is out NOW!
  • Rocktopia Te : Exclusive MOONSPELL UK video premiere on Rocktopia: Check out the latest news!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site