Tank - 'War Machine' http://rocktopia.co.uk/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x200s/48/d7/be/746_tankwarmachine_1287961626.jpg Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     October 24, 2010    
0.0 (0)
1820   0   1   0   0   0




The album will certainly put Tank back on the map.

Tank, originally formed back in 1980, has just released its seventh album – ‘War Machine’. Numerous line-up changes before, during and after founding member and frontman Algy Ward left in 1997, have resulted in a new line-up but one producing an exceptional album. The dual guitar line-up of Mick Tucker and Cliff Evans, who were in the band from the early 80s, has reignited the band with the inclusion of Chris Dale (Atom Seed, Bruce Dickinson) on bass and Dave ‘Grav’ Cavil (Zodiac Mindwarp) on drums in recent years. Keeping military metaphors going, Tank brought in on vocals another big gun in the guise of Doogie White (Rainbow, Yngwie Malmsteen).

Combining the pedigree of Tank and the promise of the CV’s of the new band members, this album was always going to be scrutinised and questioned. Luckily for the listener and the band alike, the album delivers in full. It sounds like a classic rock album of the late 70s and 80s with a classic harmonised twin guitar sound and full production, but it also sounds current and relevant. This is in no small way attributable to the producer, Pedro Ferreira, who has The Darkness and Meatloaf credits to his name and has helped Tank sound more stadium than club. Above all, the songs have matched the quality of the production backed up by standout performances.

The album kicks off with ‘Judgement Day’ (probably the most musically impressive track on the album) with a classic twin guitar riff foretelling the catchy chorus of the song. This is an epic and top-drawer song which has sophisticated light and shade built into its fabric. Guitar solos on this song and throughout the album tend to be short and sweet supporting the song rather than being musical statements in their own right. Fans of harmonised guitar riffing will appreciate ‘Phoenix Rising’, with backing vocals that will definitely be picked up and mimicked by the crowd during live performances. This song being on the metal side of rock compares with ‘The Last Laugh’ which is a more traditional rock song with a clichéd but catchy chorus.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

Making comparisons to Rainbow cannot be helped on the fifth track, which has a riff in classic Ritchie Blackmore style. This is clearly a positive comparison and the song is one of the strongest on the album. The inclusion of the slow paced song ‘After All’ prevents the potential criticism that the album is too exhausting with the relentless pace and energy. A truly superb song with a tune, passion, killer guitar solo and even orchestral passages thrown in. Indeed the mixture of song styles proves that Tank has the versatility to progress from this album and attract a reasonably wide following. Doogie has proved a great asset to the band and provides a performance that would be hard to match. The notable thing is that even with the speed, intensity and power you can always understand what he is singing about without the need to Google the lyrics after the event.

The strongest song in the album, ‘World Without Pity’, turns up as the penultimate track and makes the album more cohesive and worthy as a result. It has a great vibe and several memorable hooks, leading to a strong chorus and guitar solos full of metal mayhem.

The album will certainly put Tank back on the map. This collection of strong new songs, plus the back catalogue, will make Tank a live act to be reckoned with when their upcoming tour commences. The release of the album is certainly a big deal with four different versions: jewel case CD, limited edition digipak CD including 2 bonus tracks, LP with one bonus track and a Japanese edition of the album including two exclusive bonus tracks.

‘War Machine’ will be released by Metal Mind Productions on 25th October in Europe and 7th December in the US (via MVD). Full details are on the band’s excellent website, www.tankofficial.com.

Rob McKenzie

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  December 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
      1  2  3
  4  5  6  7  8  910

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 week, 6 days ago
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.
  • mattnavy : I bought years membership two weeks ago, commencing from the latest edition. Nothing has turned up. Can you let me know if there has been a problem.
  • Berny : 25 new album reviews incl. Harem Scarem, Mr. Big, Bonfire, Mostly Autumn, TEN, Cheap Trick and many more! Check out our Revíews section!
  • Berny : @mattnavy: Pls. click on "Shop" - > "Fireworks Mini Shop" in the TOP menu on Rocktopia or send an e - mail to «email»
  • mattnavy : I cant seem to work out how I buy the latest edition or a years subscription of firework magazines.
  • Berny : Fireworks #79 out now! Ye Banished Privateers video premiere! 14000 words interview with Harem Scarem! New album and live reviews!
  • Rocktopia Te : 20 new album and 10 new live reviews!
  • Berny : Thanks Rob, review was updated!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us