CD Reviews

Dreamslave - 'Rest In Phantasy' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     February 25, 2016    
0.0 (0)
5199   0   1   0   0   0




Avoid at all costs!

As I write, the atrocities committed in Paris in the name of some warped religious ideology (and like most right-minded people I know this has nothing to do with the teachings of Islam) are still headline news; quite why anyone would want to perpetrate such an act on innocents is beyond me – music lovers excitedly enjoying a concert or families spending quality time together in a restaurant – but my heart goes out to the French people in general and Parisians in particular [A sentiment shared by the entire Fireworks team – Ed]. We've had our spats with the French throughout history of course, but it's now time to stand shoulder to shoulder with them in defence of everything we all hold dear.

However (didn't you just know there'd be a but somewhere), that shouldn't extend to what amounts to a "free pass" on the Metal front to a band simply because of their nationality... yes, you've guessed it, Dreamslave (nice name by the way) are French; from Lyon in fact. A Female-Fronted Symphonic Metal act, the band issued an EP – 'Dreamslave' – in 2012, and has now progressed to a full album with the independently released 'Rest In Phantasy'.

First the sound quality (or lack thereof) leaves an awful lot to be desired – that could in part be due to being a download, but hey, even under less than ideal circumstances there's no denying this is messy, cluttered, and I'm afraid more often than not quite laboured. The vocals are frankly piss poor – flat, off key, or ridiculously pretentious (trust me, Tarja Turunen she ain't!) most of the time, their overlay on chugging riffs or hackneyed orchestration/keys enough to make you hit the "skip" button on average half a dozen times per song!

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

Talking of the songs, as I alluded to earlier, the arrangements are clumsy; they lack direction and conviction, and in the case of the godawful contrived 'Masquerade' they're bloody unlistenable! In a world where albums of this calibre would struggle to make the "Top 100 Releases" this week, I seriously can't think why anyone would choose to put themselves through tosh like 'Angel Requiem', 'The Vinland Saga' or 'Torments' (to name but three).

Seriously guys, ditch the singer because she's crap, stop trying to stitch together random selections from the Stratovarius, Nightwish et al back catalogues, and learn to write songs that people will actually want to listen to more than once! Avoid at all costs!

Dave Cockett

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  September 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
   1  2  3  4  5  6
  7  8  910111213

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 hour, 59 minutes ago
  • Berny : @zom414: Your mail was forwarded to the Fireworks team yesterday, I am going to ask them again. Sorry for the delay!
  • Berny : @Mitch Perry: Your order was received at 4AM local time. As stated on the order page, all payments have to be processed manually. Your copy of Fireworks 92 was added to your download section, many thanks for the purchase.
  • Berny : @RobC68: I sent you two emails explaining the situation. There's not much more I can do for you at the moment, so I'd suggest you stop buying the magazine. Thanks.
  • zom414 : Still not received the latest issue by post, I've emailed as well but not heard anything. Can you let me know what's happening please?
  • Mitch Perry : Can I have my download link, please? Issue 92 22 Sep 2020 07:57:11 BST Paypal Transaction ID: 1BS38875MX3700248
  • RobC68 : purchased issue 92 in download version. been waiting more than a day....PATHETIC SERVICE as it happens with every purchase!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Berny : @rgilman: Please check your e - mail for download instructions.
  • rgilman : Hello I bought the Deep Purple issue how do I download it? Thanks
  • Berny : @jharper36: Please check your e - mail.
  • jharper36 : Hi, i purchased the download of issue #92. How do I download it?
  • Berny : @loudjlopez: Sorry for the troubles, pls. check your mail. Many thanks!
  • loudjlopez@m : Any word on my digital download of issue 91. Paid on Saturday. It is Tuesday. Thanks
  • loudjlopez@m : Paid for Fireworks #91 for digital download. No word since Saturday and it is Monday.
  • Berny : @fdr: Magazines were sent on Monday. Thanks for your purchase and best regards, B. :)
  • fdr : Hi, yesterday (august 12th) I sent you a payment for 21GBP for the purchase of issues 91 and 82 of Fireworks magazine. (code 7D3182072X778721A) but still haven't received a word od confirmation. Can you please check?
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site