The Letter Black - 'Hanging On By A Thread' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     October 27, 2010    
0.0 (0)
5536   0   1   0   0   0

Despite the religious undertones on this full length debut, I'll be back for the next one!

Hot on the heels of 2009's 6 track 'Breaking The Silence' EP, The Letter Black return with their debut full length album. The Pennsylvania based 4 piece, formed in 2006, have attracted a lot of attention on the back of tours supporting Skillet and, judging by the reaction so far to 'Hanging On By A Thread', the future looks anything but black. The punchy opening one two of 'Fire With Fire' and 'Invisible' lays down the CDs foundations and the comparisons to Skillet, for me anyway, are immediate. The main difference is that Skillet rely heavily on male lead vocals with prominent female backing and The Letter Black have a female lead singer.

Sara Anthony has a commanding yet highly melodic delivery and along with husband (and guitarist) Mark Anthony has crafted a well balanced set of songs. Though a few of the tracks lack a certain immediacy, after several plays they eventually register and then fail to leave. 'Believe' is again very reminiscent of Skillet. Featuring some nice string passages and a strong Mark Anthony backing vocal it's one of the albums instant highlights. Three tracks are carried forward from the EP, namely 'Moving On', 'Best Of Me' and 'Hanging On By A Thread'. All are very strong, both musically and lyrically, bringing to mind both Avril Lavigne and Skillet once more. The use of strings works well throughout and 'Best Of Me' benefits most, containing some of the CDs subtler moments. The song structure of both 'My Disease' and 'I'm Just Fine' made me think of Flyleaf or Fireflight but with stronger vocals and a little less angst. The aggressive framework of 'All I Want' is complimented nicely by the melody overload of 'More To This', both showcasing some great Sara Anthony vocals once more.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

The albums lyrical themes concentrate, in the main, on relationship issues and also reflect on Sara & Mark Anthony's social conscience. The preaching is kept to a minimum and the religious messages are subtly embedded within the context of each song. 'Hanging On By A Thread' contains no out and out ballads yet there is enough variation to keep the interest levels high and the production & engineering, courtesy of Toby Wright (Alice In Chains, Korn, 3 Doors Down), breathes life into everything nicely and just lets the strength of the material do the work. There are no extended musical work-outs, just a series of 3 or 4 minute instant hits and amongst the 13 tracks on offer nothing I would really call 'filler'. I went to church once, didn't like it and never returned unless under duress. Despite the religious undertones on the full length debut The Letter Black CD, I'll be back for the next one!

Dave Bott

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  July 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 10 hours, 59 minutes ago
  • rockcompany : hi, ordered a bunch of magazines yesterday but still have not received a download. Also the order is not showing in my account?
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site