Ken's Dojo - 'Reincarnation' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     October 28, 2010    
0.0 (0)
2545   0   1   0   0   0




Quite possibly the best album of its type you'll hear anywhere this year.

Although still probably best known in international hard rock and heavy metal circles as the guitarist on the first Street Legal album (or failing that as the guy who produced TNT’s oft maligned ‘Transistor’ set), Ken Ingwersen has actually been involved in the music business for quite some time now. A black belt karate expert – hence the Ken’s Dojo name for this, his first solo project – if you dig a little deeper into his background you’ll find that he’s played with the likes of Glenn Hughes, Ole Evenrude, TNT, Return and Ken Hensley (amongst others) as well as finding time to establish a solid reputation as a producer in all spheres (although more recently that has been concentrated in acts of a more chart oriented vein).

The culmination of a long held ambition to record a solo album that goes right back to his hard rockin’ roots, when I first heard ‘Reincarnation’ my initial thoughts were that it could just be ‘the’ surprise of this summer! Calling in a few favours from such well known faces as the aforementioned Glenn Hughes, Nils K Rue (Pagan’s Mind), Tommy La Verdi (21 Guns) and the ‘one and only’ (sic) Chesney Hawkes, Ingwersen has crafted an album full of great, memorable hard rock songs underpinned by some at times truly excellent guitar work.

Opener ‘Forever’ comes rumbling out of the speakers like a cross between TNT and prime time Queensryche, all moody vocals and minor chords melded together with devastating effect – definitely one of the best opener’s I’ve heard from anyone this year. After such a memorable beginning, you’d not unreasonably expect the quality to dip right? ... wrong! ... Having set the standard from the word go, the remaining tracks carry it right through to the end with assured ease.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

Built around a solid, decidedly 80’s Scandie MHR core, Ken and his cohorts tease us with a plethora of divergent moods and emotions, deftly placed little tangents taking the songs off on delightful detours before bringing them back full circle. The Hughes track ‘I Surrender’ is a smouldering, soulful ballad with a disarming neo-classical undercurrent (very similar to Brazen Abbot at times, I’d love to hear Glen and Ken work on an album’s worth of stuff in this vein), whilst the Nils K Rue cut ‘Keeping The Flame Alive’ is the best thing Queensryche haven’t written in 20 years!

Tommy La Verdi injects ‘Demon In Diamonds’ with some brooding, bluesy grit, and as for ol’ Chesney ... well, check out title track ‘Reincarnation’ and see for yourself; trust me, I think you’ll be as pleasantly surprised as I was! But even the tracks without the big name vocals (including aforementioned opener ‘Forever’) have just as much impact, ‘Come Alive’, ‘Set The Angel Free’ or the haunting instrumental ‘Momentos A Solas’ – love the guitar tone, very Mark Knopfler - being especially memorable.

A real must, ‘Reincarnation’ is quite possibly the best album of its type you’ll hear anywhere this year.

Dave Cockett

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  February 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 46 minutes ago
  • JoannaNor : Make sure folks see your posts, in addition to for this that occurs, you must make them follow you first. You may be surprised how well that works. You are able to request only once each day. Get Free online instagram bot from real people! It's not necessarily realistic to enhance a follower bottom level from the damage. Even if you prefer new followers you will require some simple count number as proof of your trustworthiness. Now you can just secure unlimited followers within fe
  • Berny : @Rob: Done! :)
  • robmckenzie : Hi Bernie, urgent change please. In the Moonkings concert review - please replace "the original John Syke's one" with "obviously his sublime '1987' album version"
  • Berny : Anyway, we posted 90+ album & live reviews in February. Please enjoy & share!
  • Rocktopia Te : Don't trigger CEB, you know what will happen ....
  • Berny : None that I am aware of ... BRUCE??? :D ;)
  • Hysteria : @ Berny: So no adult toys in the Rocktopis shop?? :D
  • Berny : Apologies for the "Shout Here" spammers. We'll take care of this issue asap.
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us