CD Reviews

Leslie West - 'Soundcheck' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     March 31, 2016    
0.0 (0)
4333   0   1   0   0   0






There's enough greatness here to make it worthwhile.

Before I was given the task of reviewing Leslie West's powerful 'Still Climbing' album from 2013, I had been largely ignorant of the man other than knowing he was the leader of seminal US Rockers Mountain, the band responsible for the classics 'Mississippi Queen' and 'Nantucket Sleighride'.
The axeman who inspired artists as diverse as Eddie Van Halen, Ritchie Blackmore, John McLaughlin and Johnny Ramone has been recording since the mid-sixties and has just turned seventy, but despite losing the lower part of his right leg in 2011 due to complications with diabetes, he shows no sign of slowing down his relentless recording and touring schedule just yet.

I must admit that I did cringe when I saw the track listing for 'Soundcheck' as some of these songs I either don't like or they've been mercilessly overdone through the years, but some neat arrangements and inspired guest musicians have made it much better than it could have been.
His sixteenth solo album kicks off with the straight-ahead Blues Rocker 'Left By The Roadside To Die', a great song with West's whisky-soaked vocals, legendary guitar vibrato and some synthesizer bleeps and impressive dynamics keeping it fresh. Of his own songs 'Here For The Party' is a quite ordinary upbeat workout, 'A Stern Warning' is a cool acoustic piece dedicated to his friend Howard Stern and the lively 'Empty Promises/Nothin' Sacred' is a punchy Rocker tipping its hat to AC/DC.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

Now to the mixed part of the programme, the covers. On the plus side there's a great version of Tracy Chapman's 'Give Me One Reason' with a superb vocal, great guitar fills and nice piano, and Curtis Mayfield's 'People Get Ready' is a really cool version that surprisingly almost matches Jeff Beck's rendition of the same song. Similarly, 'Goin' Down' gets by on the strength of West's vocal duet with Bonnie Bramlett and guest appearances by Brian May on guitar and Jeff Beck sideman Max Middleton on excellent keys. Willie Dixon's 'Spoonful' is a rough and very long 1988 live recording with Jack Bruce on bass/vocals and Good Rat Joe Franco on drums.

Slightly less successful are an acoustic 'Stand By Me', a solo bass version of 'Eleanor Rigby' (presumably by West's regular bassist Rev Jones, it doesn't say!), and while I'm a huge fan of both Peter Frampton and Wigan Athletic FC, a minor key version of our terrace anthem 'You Are My Sunshine' is a waste of both guitarists time, even though the extended solos are great.

Expertly produced by Mike "Metal" Goldberg, 'Soundcheck' is a good album that sadly isn't as consistent as '...Climbing' or the previous 'Unusual Suspects', but there's enough greatness here to make it worthwhile.

Phil Ashcroft

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  August 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
       1  2
  3  4  5  6  7  8  9

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 month, 2 weeks ago
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site