CD Reviews

Tarja - 'The Brightest Void' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     August 15, 2016    
0.0 (0)
3861   0   1   0   0   0





A prequel to the August release of 'The Shadow Self'.

arja (Turunen) presents 'The Brightest Void' as a prequel to the August release of 'The Shadow Self', with nine tracks showcased; these include a studio version of 'Witch Hunt' (her 'Beauty And The Beat' song with Mike Terrana and the Bohuslav Martinu Philharmonic Orchestra), two covers from Shirley Bassey and Paul McCartney and a new mix of 'Paradise (What About Us' – her duet with Sharon den Adel on Within Temptation's 'Hydra' – alongside five other original songs.

One of the most interesting for me is her duet with Hanoi Rocks front-man Mike Monroe on 'Your Heaven And Your Hell', a straight-ahead Rocker with Monroe also contributing harmonica and sax, particularly in the Jazzy mid-section, and Tarja singing in an unbelievably low register devoid of all her trademark pitch, tone and timbre – although the (studio) switch to her high Soprano in the song will probably be difficult to do live. It's an incredibly brave attempt at a contemporary Rock 'n' Roll tune, and has Monroe's stamp all over it, and for the most part it works very well.

'No Bitter End' is the first video release and should be familiar to fans. A dark, heavy down-tuned guitar sound in keeping with previous solo albums with a soaring voice that embellishes a good melody on the chorus.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

McCartney's 'House Of Wax' is also interesting as its temperate beat meshes with a piano ostinato that bears a slowed down resemblance to Gary Jules' version of 'Mad World'. It's a beautiful, haunting piece with a typically gorgeous vocal. Tarja's cover of 'Goldfinger' has a slightly dark edge to it and is considerably different. She's created her own intro and what I particularly like is the very subtle mimicking of Bassey's clipped delivery in places, whilst putting her overall unique stamp on the song.

As for the new mix of 'Paradise...', the guitars have been turned down and the bass appears to have been taken out to give more clarity to the vocals. The resonance of the Toms has been pared back too, whilst a single violin has replaced the orchestration in places when the instrumentation is at rest, with just the vocals A Cappella.

There are a multitude of musicians involved in both projects but for the most part Tarja's regular band are the main protagonists, although it's also worth mentioning that Red Hot Chili Peppers' Chad Smith played drums on the ballad 'Eagle Eye'.

Carl Buxton

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  January 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 4 days, 3 hours ago
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???
  • Berny : @tomandpam: Many thanks for your purchase. The download instructions were sent yesterday, please contact me at «email» should you haven't received the email.
  • tomandpam : I paid for a download on issue 89 and didn't receive the download. Please let me know when I can get it. Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Fireworks Magazine #89 will be available at selected UK based newsagents on December 16th. The digital version can already be purchased in our Download Store.
  • zom414 : When's the next mag due for release?
  • Berny : @el nowy: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. Pls. check your mail!
  • el nowy : Hi, how long does it take for my download license to be available? I purchased it 3 days ago. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @l.thijs: Apologies for the delay, your digital copy can now be downloaded from your "My Downloads" section.
  • l.thijs : Hi Fireworks Magazine. I made a purchase on 10 nov and I paid by Paypall. I bought the #85 fireworks mag download for GBP3,50. But I didn,t receive anything. Please can you find out what's going on?
  • kazooba : I have digital versions of every issue from 27 thru 88, any way I can get issues 1 - 26 with cd's digitally?
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: The links are in the Fireworks menu. Have you tried scrolling down? Maybe your screen size is too small...
  • SeaDog57 : Berny; there are only links up to Fireworks 86. Which is kinda strange because i already downloaded CD 87 but i'm looking for the link to CD 88...Chris
  • Rocktopia Te : @Johns Band: Can you please contact us here: «email»
  • Johns Band : Fireworks Magazine 88 did not arrive by post. paid by PayPal. Any Suggestion.
  • Berny : @bpomper: Can you pls. contact the Rocktopia team here: «email»
  • bpomper : i found the problem..old email i can not access.i have tried to change it by editing my info but it wont allow. any suggestions
  • Berny : @bpomper: A reply was sent yesterday, We recommend checking your spam/junk mail to see if our message was filtered there. The magazine was already sent to your shipping address. Please let me know if you do not receive it within the next couple of days. Thanks for your patience!
  • bpomper : Thanks didnt of that. I still have not heard about fireworks 88 was it sent out. Thankyou
  • Rocktopia Te : @bpomper: For security reasons, we removed your previous message. Please do not post your private e - mail address. Many thanks for your understanding.
  • bpomper : Thanks for the reply. I see download but can you confirm that hardcopy was or is sent ou .thanks.the email i used is inder the contact me info of the website
  • Berny : @bpomper: Apologies for your troubles. Where did you send the email to? We haven't received anything. I will send you a longer reply via mail. Also, you can download the free CD from the "Fireworks" menu on top, but the CD links are only shown if you are logged in.
  • bpomper : 3rd email inquiring about my purchase of fireworks #88. i purchased on the 2oth of sept and today is the 24 with no response...paypal has taken the payment. should i have a down load of the cd for mu usa magazine. Looking forward to an answer
  • bpomper : hello i purchased fireworks #88 through paypal on9/23 and have not recieved an email from rocktopia. purchase is for a hard copy of the mag. should i have cd download instructions.when should i expect it
  • Berny : @Johns Band: I've just sent you an e - mail. Best regards, B.
  • Johns Band : I have ordered FM Live video and £1.99 taken from my PayPal account. How do I download video. Something gone wrong at processing with Fireworks. The links to report it do not work.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site