CD Reviews

Jeff Healey - 'Heal My Soul' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     September 01, 2016    
0.0 (0)
1065   0   1   0   0   0




Every song is quality work and worthy of inclusion on this collection.

Losing one's vision as an adolescent is a traumatic event that many a person would have difficulty ever overcoming. Jeff Healey, however, is one such person whose disability was no match for his massive talents. Responsible for taking his sight as well as the cause of his untimely passing back in 2008, cancer refused to loosen its grip on Healey's health. That did not stop him, however, from becoming one of the most recognized guitar talents when he blazed onto the scene with the release of the debut Jeff Healey Band album 'See A Little Light'. This resulted with features in every major guitar publication and received massive exposure when he was cast in the Patrick Swayze movie 'Road House'.

Since those salad days, Healey is a name that has not captured much of my attention and I shamefully only discovered his passing when given this assignment. His legacy, however, is getting some long overdue recognition with 'Heal My Soul', the first collection of all previously unreleased material in over fifteen years.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

The material contained on this "lost album" of sorts was recorded during his creative peak spanning much of the nineties. Not only do these recordings carry major significance, but every song is quality work and worthy of inclusion on this collection. Healey's impressive talents on the guitar are nowhere better featured than on 'Moodswing' where he squeezes every last drop of emotion from those strings. 'Love In Her Eyes' showcases his talents on both electric and acoustic instruments. Healey really fires on all cylinders with the Rockers 'Daze Of The Night' and 'Please.' He is also never apprehensive to show a more sensitive side as found with the delicate ballads 'All The Saints' and 'Baby Blue'.

Eleven of the twelve tracks are originals, with the lone cover being Richard Thompson's 'I Misunderstood'. It is every bit as good as the original and features some of Healey's inimitable guitar work. 'Heal My Soul' is proof that Jeff Healey maintained the highest level of musicianship throughout his life, never allowing his health to obstruct his musical vision. What's more, this album is further proof to the musical community that they should never forget his contributions to the modern day, Blues Rock style and is a must for everyone who fancies this bucolic musical sensibility.

Brent Rusche

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  January 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  1  2  3  4  5  6  7
  8  91011121314

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 week, 6 days ago
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us