CD Reviews

The Rides - 'Pierced Arrow' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     September 10, 2016    
0.0 (0)
1228   0   1   0   0   0





A fine Blues/Rock album worthy of anyone's collection.

It seems the norm now for musicians to have additional bands/projects which they can venture into on their time off from the "usual" job and The Rides is no exception. Stephen Stills (of Crosby Stills & Nash fame) has teamed up with guitar maestro Kenny Wayne Shepherd and keyboardist Barry Goldberg. Goldberg has played with the likes of Muddy Waters, Otis Rush and Howlin' Wolf so clearly knows the Blues. 'Pierced Arrow' is the follow-up to their 2014 album 'Can't Get Enough'.

Clearly with the likes of these three gents involved, it's unlikely you are going to get substandard product and that is the case. 'Pierced Arrow' contains ten tracks from out and out Rockers to soulful ballads plus a couple of well-chosen covers. Vocals on the album are split between Stills and Shepherd.

'Kick Out Of It' opens proceedings and could easily be a Mick Jagger/Keith Richards composition; a pure Bluesy Rocker with a nice, dirty edge to it. There's a feel to it that suggests it may have been recorded, more or less, live in the studio. Well done but not too clinical. The second track 'Riva Diva' is much along the same lines, albeit in this case more reminiscent of Chuck Berry.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

'Virtual World' is a reflective ballad with Shepherd and Stills dueting throughout, a la CSN, and is a song lyrically designed to make the listener take a look at themselves and the life/lives we currently lead. Another atmospheric tune in 'By My Side' follows before we riff up again for 'Mr Policeman'.
'I've Got To Use My Imagination' is the first of two covers on the album. This was a hit for Gladys Knight & The Pips and was written by Goldberg and the late Gerry Goffin. It was also recorded by Bobby Bland (Whitesnake fans might know of him) and it's the Bland version (slower) they have selected as the basis of the cover.

'Game On' and 'I Need Your Lovin'' pick the pace right up before we get to the soulful 'There Was A Place'. Finishing off with a cover of Willie Dixon's 'My Babe', a song that is the complete opposite of the usual "my baby left me" Blues lines as it puts women in a positive light. Overall, a fine Blues/Rock album worthy of anyone's collection.

Steve Price

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  January 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  1  2  3  4  5  6  7
  8  91011121314

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 week, 6 days ago
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us