DVD & Blu-ray Reviews

The Rolling Stones - 'From The Vault: Live At The Tokyo Dome 1990' http://rocktopia.co.uk/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x200s/c4/10/05/the-rolling-stones-from-the-vault-live-at-the-tokyo-dome-1990-73-1474744923.jpg Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     September 24, 2016    
0.0 (0)
1153   0   1   0   0   0

This item, and the series in general, will appeal to old and new fans alike.

'Live At The Tokyo Dome 1990' is the fifth release in the 'From The Vault' series of live concerts from The Rolling Stones archive. This performance is taken from their 1990 'Steel Wheels' World Tour and were the Stones first ever shows in the Land Of The Rising Sun.

Continuing on this very successful series of classic, previously unreleased Stones live shows, this entry is taken from one of the ten Tokyo Dome shows from the 14th to the 27th February 1990 and were the culmination of the world tour. The latter still holds the record for the largest ever stage set to be assembled and mighty impressive it was too. This Tokyo concert shows a tighter and more polished Stones than ever before. As with previous 'From The Vault' releases, the DVD comes with a small booklet containing a full in-depth review of the concert by Richard Havers.

This particular release is available as a DVD/4LP vinyl set, a DVD/2CD edition as well as individual Blu-ray and DVD offerings. All have once again has been carefully restored and the sound has been newly mixed by the legendary Bob Clearmountain and the DVD is available in Dolby Digital Stereo, Dolby Digital 5.1 and DTS Surround Sound. I listened to the DVD in Dolby Digital 5.1 and the sound was phenomenal; I have the live album 'Flashpoint' that was recorded on this tour (with half a dozen less songs) and the audio does not compare in comparison.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

As is often the case with Japanese crowds, they were more than enthusiastic especially having been starved of any live Stones' performances for over three decades. The picture quality is a little dark and not obviously up to modern day standards, however, you have to remember this was recorded over twenty-five years ago.

Including the 'Continental Drift' intro, the visual release boasts twenty-four Stones classics. My personal favourites are set openers 'Start Me Up' and 'Bitch' along with 'Rock And A Hard Place' and 'Mixed Emotions' from the then last studio album '...Wheels'. How about this for the last eight songs of the concert; the awesome 'Paint It Black', '2000 Light Years From Home' segueing beautifully into the breathtaking 'Sympathy For The Devil', followed by the incredulous 'Gimme Shelter', the seminal 'It's Only Rock 'N' Roll', 'Brown Sugar', '(I Can't Get No) Satisfaction' and finally concluding with a sensational version of 'Jumpin' Jack Flash'. Quality indeed!

I have, unfortunately, never seen the Stones in concert so these 'From The Vault' DVD's allow me to see what I have been missing all these years; this item, and the series in general, will appeal to old and new fans alike.

Mark Donnelly

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  January 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  1  2  3  4  5  6  7
  8  91011121314

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 week, 5 days ago
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us