DVD & Blu-ray Reviews

Devin Townsend - 'Ziltoid: Live At The Royal Albert Hall' http://rocktopia.co.uk/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x200s/69/e8/45/devin-townsend-ziltoid-royal-albert-hall-19-1474745033.jpg Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     September 24, 2016    
0.0 (0)
1403   0   1   0   0   0

This release is worth getting, and the best way to avoid the picture being out of focus is to actually be there for the next one.

Anyone who has read any of my live reviews before, (there must be someone), will know that I am no big fan of this type of album, and the whole point of going to see a band live, is to actually see a band live.

Admittedly, this one is from Devin Townsend, so you would probably expect something a little different, but still, live albums only really work for me if I have been to the actual concert recorded (and I can hear myself screaming over everything else, so that I can point this out to everyone, which never happens). On this occasion I hadn't, so fortunately, this package also includes a DVD as well as the three CDs. I will therefore base the review on the DVD, as the audio discs are just the same thing, musically, as the DVD.

First thing I have to say is that Townsend doesn't mess about when it comes to live spectacles. The Royal Albert Hall as a location for starters with a production that sees numerous characters on stage, The War Princess, (played on this occasion by co-writer of the song Dominique Lenore Persi), Poozers and Ziltoid himself, as well as a group of backing singers on either side of Townsend, Captain Spectacular on screen and the band of course.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

Starting with a short film of Ziltoid, the first part of the show is the 'Dark Matter' half of the 'Z2' album, which tells the final part of the Ziltoid story (or does it?). A lot of this music is from Townsend's heavy side, not too far from his Strapping Young Lad days and, for me, it is an acquired taste but there are many people here, and out there, who like it as much as his more Progressive offerings.

There is considerably more of this during the second half, which Townsend explains is made up from fan's requests, some of which have never been played live before. This part is not as theatrical and, as the main man explains, they even dress down for this section. Epic sounding songs like 'Earth Day', 'Christeen', 'Supercrush!', 'Kingdom', 'Funeral' and the excellent 'Universal Flame,' for which everybody connected with the show, including Townsend's son Reyner, (whose request this was), join him on stage.

I do have one criticism however. The DVD appears not to have been recorded in HD, and on a few occasions, it takes a while for the camera to get into focus when the angle changes.

Despite that small grumble, this release is still worth getting, and the best way to avoid the picture being out of focus is to actually be there for the next one.

Andy Brailford

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  January 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  1  2  3  4  5  6  7
  8  91011121314

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 week, 5 days ago
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us