DVD & Blu-ray Reviews

Eric Clapton - 'Slowhand At 70: Live At The Royal Albert Hall' http://rocktopia.co.uk/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x200s/af/7d/a4/eric-clapton-slowhand-at-70-live-at-the-royal-albert-hall-3-1474918117.jpg Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     September 26, 2016    
0.0 (0)
1355   0   1   0   0   0

A fine souvenir of the 70th birthday of a true legend.

This high quality DVD of Eric Clapton at The Royal Albert Hall (in mid-2015) celebrating his 70th birthday with his band will, of course, be a must buy for his legion of fans.

Clapton covers all bases with his set-list featuring the electrifying 'Pretending' from his 'Journeyman' album to the less electrifying but now mandatory semi-acoustic 'Layla'. Other classics such as 'I Shot The Sheriff' and 'Tears In Heaven' are included and it is clear that in the eyes of the audience, Clapton can do no wrong.

He has surrounded himself with superb players (including Paul Carrack of Mike And The Mechanics who is a great Hammond B3 player) and drummer Steve Gadd who does everything with ease. Of special note is bassist Nathan East who takes over lead singer duties on 'Can't Find My Way Home' and is superb, allowing Clapton to focus on his guitar work. For that matter, Carrack sings 'You Are So Beautiful' effortlessly – Clapton has really got a crack team around him!

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

To add a bit of further excitement, Clapton puts in some disguised introductions to his songs probably most effective on '...Sherriff'. His playing throughout is spot on as you would imagine and the tone is captured to perfection by the 5.1 recording. Interplays with Carrack's B3 and the piano of Chris Stainton add that little extra magic to proceedings and, for example, raise the slow-paced Layla to the stratosphere. The upbeat songs are more up my street and it's hard to beat 'Let It Rain' and 'Cocaine' for how live Rock songs should sound.

If you are going to buy this, you probably don't need to have read this review, this DVD is a fine souvenir of the 70th birthday of a true legend.

Rob McKenzie

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  January 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  1  2  3  4  5  6  7
  8  91011121314

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 week, 5 days ago
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us