DVD & Blu-ray Reviews

Nightwish - 'Endless Forms Most Beautiful (Tour Edition)' http://rocktopia.co.uk/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x200s/38/70/fd/nightwish-endless-forms-most-beautiful-tour-edition-8-1474918225.jpg Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     September 26, 2016    
0.0 (0)
1436   0   1   0   0   0

It's hard to truly endorse this release unless you haven't already purchased a physical version of 'Endless Forms Most Beautiful'.

In all there were sixteen (yes...sixteen!) versions of the 2011 Nightwish album 'Imaginaerum'. The Standard Edition, 2CD Digi, mail order 2CD, Roadrunner Edition, Tour Edition and a whole array of coloured vinyl options. Oh, and 'The Score' album of course, so make that seventeen! Hence that its follow-up, 'Endless Forms Most Beautiful', should already be touching twenty different variations comes as no shock. The latest in that (long) list unfurls in a tasty four-panel digi-pack with beautiful artwork and stunning visuals, its contents a CD containing the full 'Endless...' album (no bonus tracks) and a separate DVD with an assortment of live clips and behind the scenes footage.

'Endless...' was expertly lauded by Carl Buxton (issue #69) so I won't go into great detail here about the main album itself. However, unlike my colleague, I'm still not completely convinced by an album so keen to expand its outlook through long narration and animal noises, that the songs themselves felt a little like Nightwish by numbers. Although to be fair, those numbers – 'Elan', 'Endless Forms Most Beautiful' and 'Shudder Before The Beautiful' – are mightier than many a band could hope to achieve, even if the criminal under use of new singer Floor Jansen verges on unforgivable!

However, most Nightwish fans will have already invested in at least one version of 'Endless...', hence the focus needs to move to the DVD. Here you'll find two full live videos, five live "special clips", two official videos (it's still fun, if surprising, to see how self-conscious the band look in the studio clip for 'Endless Forms Most Beautiful' – 'Elan' being the other), an extensive photo gallery and an in-depth, twenty-part documentary. On its own that list sounds impressive, however when you take into account that all bar the two full live cuts ('Yours Is An Empty Hope' and 'Stargazers') are available on YouTube, then it's not so clear cut. That said, if you want a hard copy of the other live performances, then the likes of 'Planet Hell', 'Arabesque' and 'Storytime' undoubtedly display what a live force this band are, Jansen utterly immense and pipes man Troy Donockley indispensable in a way his studio touches don't always illustrate.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

Where the real value – and consternation – arrives is in the twenty part 'Making Of...' documentary, the clips revealing the inner workings of the band from song-writing and arranging, through recording, listening parties, album art and tour rehearsals. It's an interesting, exhaustive journey (the DVD runs to one hundred and fifty-one minutes), but with the clips lifted straight from YouTube with no editing, each episode carries the same introduction, and each a snippet of what's in the next instalment. Which when you consider this is just the touch of a button away, it becomes more than a little tiresome. Would it really have been such a stretch to edit these clips together into one continuous story? Hence if there's one real complaint, it's that with the excellent and lengthy source material available, it feels like there's been very little thought, time or care put into what could have been – and nearly is – a superb add-on to the original album.

As it is, it's hard to truly endorse this release unless you haven't already purchased a physical version of 'Endless Forms Most Beautiful'. If that's the case, this is the one you need. If you have, it's open to debate as to whether the DVD truly adds enough "watch it again and again" value to reinvest.

Steven Reid

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  December 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
      1  2  3
  4  5  6  7  8  910

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 week, 6 days ago
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.
  • mattnavy : I bought years membership two weeks ago, commencing from the latest edition. Nothing has turned up. Can you let me know if there has been a problem.
  • Berny : 25 new album reviews incl. Harem Scarem, Mr. Big, Bonfire, Mostly Autumn, TEN, Cheap Trick and many more! Check out our Revíews section!
  • Berny : @mattnavy: Pls. click on "Shop" - > "Fireworks Mini Shop" in the TOP menu on Rocktopia or send an e - mail to «email»
  • mattnavy : I cant seem to work out how I buy the latest edition or a years subscription of firework magazines.
  • Berny : Fireworks #79 out now! Ye Banished Privateers video premiere! 14000 words interview with Harem Scarem! New album and live reviews!
  • Rocktopia Te : 20 new album and 10 new live reviews!
  • Berny : Thanks Rob, review was updated!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us