DVD & Blu-ray Reviews

Lynyrd Skynyrd - 'Pronounced 'Léh-Nerd 'Skin-Nérd & Second Helping: Live From Jacksonville At The Florida Theatre' http://rocktopia.co.uk/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x200s/4c/41/ad/lynyrd-skynyrd-pronounced-leh-nerd-skin-nerd-second-helping-live-from-jacksonville-15-1474918281.jpg Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     September 26, 2016    
0.0 (0)
1795   0   1   0   0   0

Makes for most excellent viewing and comes recommended to the casual and diehard fan alike.

The appetite remains for all things Lynyrd Skynyrd. Following the now exceedingly well-documented plane crash that claimed the lives of three band members and their tour manager, one could quite rightly argue that Skynyrd are more popular now than perhaps during that of their heyday of the mid-seventies. For many of the Skynyrd purists, the band ended that fateful day in October 1977, but for the average joe who has grown up listening to 'Free Bird' or 'Sweet Home Alabama' on the countless Classic Rock stations across the world, the fact remains that there is something about Skynyrd that has managed to transcend age gaps, race, creed and musical genres, meaning the Skynyrd of 2015 is still a massive touring entity, selling hundreds of thousands of concert tickets each year.

Filmed at The Florida Theatre in their home town of Jacksonville over two nights in April of this year (and available in DVD, Blu-ray or 2CD formats), Skynyrd blaze their way through their first two albums in their entirety, possibly for the first time ever, with every single track that made both albums get an airing. Seldom if ever played tracks such as 'Poison Whisky', 'Things Goin' On' and 'Mississippi Kid' from 'Pronounced 'Léh-nérd 'Skin-nérd' along with 'I Need You', 'Don't Ask Me No Questions' and 'Swamp Music' from 'Second Helping' adding the sense of occasion for the Skynyrd anorak.

What does stand out is the fact that from both of these Al Kooper produced masterpieces, a stunning Ten, yes, ten tracks can be found in pretty much almost any Skynyrd set-list over the past twenty-five years. Bona Fide classics such as '...Bird' '...Alabama' 'Tuesday's Gone', 'Gimme Three Steps', 'Simple Man', 'Needle And The Spoon' and the wonderfully understated 'Ballad Of Curtis Lowe' (depending on which version of events you believe may have been written about Shorty Medlocke; think Blackfoot's 'Train Train' from 'Strikes' and also of course Skynyrd's guitarist Ricky Medlocke's gran-daddy).

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

Musically, Skynyrd could probably perform the majority of their rich back catalogue blindfolded, however the very idea of getting to grips with tracks that they possibly haven't even listened to for over two decades presents a whole plethora of problems in its own right. However Skynyrd, despite always presenting that affable "who gives a shit boy from next door having a good time" image are damn fine musicians one and all, and live... well, they absolutely nail it as you would expect.

Despite performing the original albums with only one original member on stage (Gary Rossington), it somehow, even to a hardened Skynyrd critic like myself, seems in any way like a cheap shot at the memory of those that have gone before. There are an almost countless amount of live Skynyrd DVDs, videos and albums in circulation, many mind-numbingly repetitive re-issues under different titles of, well frankly poor (by their own high standards) live performances, however this particular offering has a little bit about it to make it stand out from the crowd. Perhaps it's the fact that it's on hallowed turf, or perhaps it's because of the sheer quality of the songs on offer; this boys and girls is about as close as anyone who had ever hoped to see the original band in action in their early days is likely to get.

Padded out with the now obligatory backstage interview with Rossington, Johnny Van Zant and Medlocke paying tribute to past members as you would expect given the subject matter of the impending live performance, it makes for most excellent viewing and comes recommended to the casual and diehard fan alike.

Kieran Dargan

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  August 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
   1  2  3  4  5  6
  7  8  910111213

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 days ago
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.
  • mattnavy : I bought years membership two weeks ago, commencing from the latest edition. Nothing has turned up. Can you let me know if there has been a problem.
  • Berny : 25 new album reviews incl. Harem Scarem, Mr. Big, Bonfire, Mostly Autumn, TEN, Cheap Trick and many more! Check out our Revíews section!
  • Berny : @mattnavy: Pls. click on "Shop" - > "Fireworks Mini Shop" in the TOP menu on Rocktopia or send an e - mail to «email»
  • mattnavy : I cant seem to work out how I buy the latest edition or a years subscription of firework magazines.
  • Berny : Fireworks #79 out now! Ye Banished Privateers video premiere! 14000 words interview with Harem Scarem! New album and live reviews!
  • Rocktopia Te : 20 new album and 10 new live reviews!
  • Berny : Thanks Rob, review was updated!
  • rocktopiarob : Hi in the Bad For Good review - please replace "Rundgren's absurdly genius guitar playing" with "Davey Johnstone's absurdly genius guitar playing"
  • LeChef : Thumbs up!!!
  • Central Elec : Five new live reviews!
  • Hysteria : Wow! GREAT Abums! What a fantastic read!!! Kudos to you guys for including an album review by "The Hoff". KITT will love it!!! : - )
  • Central Elec : Landmark reviews 4991 - 5000 are online
  • Berny : Landmark reviews 4981 - 4990 are online, have fun! :)
  • Central Elec : Landmark Album Reviews 4971 - 4980 are online.
  • Berny : Check out our EXCLUSIVE interview with André Andersen of ROYAL HUNT!
  • Berny : More information can be found here: «link»
  • Berny : @moorby_vj_li: Many thanks for your purchase. If you bought a physical copy of the magazine, you can download the bonus disc from the menu on top (Fireworks - > Bonus CD 77).
  • moorby_vj_li : Hi All, I have purchased Issue 77 but can not see a link to download the music, where would I go, thank you in advance
  • Berny : GRAVE DIGGER exclusive UK video premiere of 'Lawbreaker'! Check out the news!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us