DVD & Blu-ray Reviews

Doro - 'Strong And Proud: 30 Years Of Rock And Metal' http://rocktopia.co.uk/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x200s/77/c3/6c/doro-strong-and-proud-30-years-of-rock-and-metal-48-1474918525.jpg Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     September 26, 2016    
0.0 (0)
1768   0   1   0   0   0

An absolute essential purchase for fans of this legendary singer.

Doro celebrated her 30th anniversary of performing live throughout much of 2013/14 and three special shows were filmed in celebration; Wacken, followed by two sold out shows in her hometown of Dusseldorf.

Available in Blu-Ray, DVD and gatefold vinyl, the music spans this legendary Metal singer's career from Warlock to her present day solo work. The Wacken show in particular really gives you a feel of a momentous occasion, the sight of eighty-five thousand Metalheads singing along and giving the horned salute is quite a sight indeed, every angle filmed in close up detail to give you the feel of almost being there on the night.

The first song of the Wacken show, 'Anthem (We Are Metalheads)', has a group of lucky fans on stage with Doro playing some enthusiastic air guitar as she high fives them in celebration. It is a tight set including such classics as 'Burning The Witches' and 'Hellbound', and Motörhead guitarist Phil Campbell joins proceedings for a run through of the Judas Priest classic 'Breaking The Law' which is one of many Metal classics given the Doro treatment throughout these shows.

The "Classic" billed show is backed by an orchestra (who at times though were drowned out by the band on certain songs) which makes for interesting viewing. Former Accept front-man Udo Dirkschneider joins Doro for a terrific version of the Accept classic 'Princess Of The Dawn' and the duet 'Dancing With An Angel', while Lordi, in full monster outfit, also makes an appearance for 'Hard Rock Hallelujah' where it looks, at certain moments, like he's not sure if he wants to sing to Doro or eat her!

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

The "Rock Night" show is just the band running through a similar set minus the orchestral element, which for me without the clutter of the orchestra works better. Doro's enthusiasm and love for her craft is evident from the smile on her face and how she interacts with the audience, jumping into the pit and offering the microphone to them to sing with her. Saxon singer Biff Byford steps up for the classic 'Denim And Leather' while Wolfsbane/Iron Maiden singer Blaze Bayley, Scorpions guitarist Uli Jon Roth and Savatage guitarist Chris Caffery also make appearances.

The two hour documentary 'Behind The Iron Curtain, Inside The Heart Of Doro' is sadly the only let down on offer here, with no vintage footage or real Metal legends to add to the story; it screens like a very long interview with Doro in her native tongue, German, complete with subtitles.

That minor disappointment aside, the package as a whole is an absolute essential purchase for fans of this legendary singer. The quality of filming throughout the shows is exceptional, plus the many guests included adds a real sense of occasion.

Ray Paul

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  March 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 16 hours, 19 minutes ago
  • Rocktopia Te : Two news interviews in the Rocktopia Interviews Section: LITTLE CAESAR & GEISHAS IN VITRO. Enjoy! :) «link»
  • Berny : Fireworks #82 is our now! Check out the free interviews with Royal Hunt, Stryper, Kamelot, James Christian, Signal Red & Animal Drive!
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Many thanks for your purchase! Your copy will be sent to your registered address this week.
  • Johns Band : I paid for Fireworks 82 Magazine, when will it be sent. Best Regards - John
  • Berny : @Rob: Done! :)
  • robmckenzie : Hi Bernie, urgent change please. In the Moonkings concert review - please replace "the original John Syke's one" with "obviously his sublime '1987' album version"
  • Berny : Anyway, we posted 90+ album & live reviews in February. Please enjoy & share!
  • Rocktopia Te : Don't trigger CEB, you know what will happen ....
  • Berny : None that I am aware of ... BRUCE??? :D ;)
  • Hysteria : @ Berny: So no adult toys in the Rocktopis shop?? :D
  • Berny : Apologies for the "Shout Here" spammers. We'll take care of this issue asap.
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us