CD Reviews


Added by Central Electronic Brain     November 17, 2010    
0.0 (0)
4671   0   1   0   0   0






An eclectic blend of sound and emotion.

I first became aware of this eclectic blend of sound and emotion over a year ago, but I have only recently made the (overdue) purchase that allows me to provide this review. ΦEARTH is the creation of two British guys (Dave Cureton and Adam Gough) who first wrote music together in the early 90s when they were barely 12-year olds, and this project is the culmination of their work together over the years. It has been embraced by the progressive rock community as a masterwork and has received substantial critical acclaim from all parts of that community (and beyond) – and you will not find mine to be a dissenting voice!

The 3-part conceptual piece, divided into ‘Water’, ‘Earth’ and ‘Air’, is over 90 minutes long and sprawls across two discs. Each movement has quite a different “feel” to it, with ‘Earth’ and ‘Air’ being the two most immediately accessible. It is progressive music in its purest form and is designed to be listened to as a complete whole, although when I return to it in the future the likelihood is that I will focus upon the second disc as this includes some of the more “straightforward” material, including stunning vocals from Steve Balsamo on ‘Take Me’ and from Clare Malin on ‘Come With Me (Reprise)’. The album concludes with the stirringly orchestral and optimistic ‘Outro’.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

The key to knowing whether ΦEARTH might be one you would wish to purchase is to appreciate that it is full to overflowing with the blending and slicing together of a vast array of musical genres including ambient, rock, dance, classical, operatic, atmospheric, jazz, electronica, and more besides. It has left me in awe at the imagination of the guys, and of how well-served they have been by the featured performances of Richard Cureton (all drums and percussion), Louise Brabbins (vocals), Christian Nokes (bass), Steve Trigg (horns) and Jason Reynolds (sax) – plus the previously mentioned Steve Balsamo and Clare Malin.

If you have purchased and have enjoyed the albums by ChimpanA, Mermaid Kiss and Dream Aria – and indeed any progressively imaginative music, then this really is a no-brainer. For the rest of you, it is an excellent opportunity to explore an album that should be played loud - one that may (or indeed will) challenge your existing musical preferences, but hopefully leave you feeling surprised and amazed by the emotional experience and the quality of the performances.

The guys are apparently hard at work on their next album (‘Red’). I don’t envy their task: as this will be a very difficult work to equal, let alone surpass. Astonishing!

Paul Jerome Smith

Purchase the album from

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  July 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 20 hours, 53 minutes ago
  • rockcompany : hi, ordered a bunch of magazines yesterday but still have not received a download. Also the order is not showing in my account?
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site