Concert Reviews

Mitch Malloy / Sordid Lies Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     October 07, 2016    
0.0 (0)
2580   0   1   0   0   0

Mitch Malloy / Sordid Lies - The Corporation, Sheffield (UK) - 17 September 2016

I arrived at this evening's event around 8.00pm expecting to have missed the opening act and just in time to catch Kaato. However, as I entered the venue Sordid Lies were just taking to the stage. It transpired that Kaato would not be playing this evening (reason unknown) and the East Yorkshire Rockers were handed an extended set. They grasped the nettle with both hands and put in a brilliant performance. The early reception was lukewarm but that did not detract the band from 2017's City Of The Uncultured, Hull! These guys play their brand of Sleazy, Melodic Metal that was the staple diet of the Sunset Strip thirty years ago. The enigmatic front-man Valen Vain, who looked and sang like the love child of Axl Rose and Scott Weiland (with Librace as his Godfather!) engaged the crowd who warmed to the band throughout their set of mostly original numbers including 'Devil's Daughter', 'Dirty Girl' and 'Turn It Up!'

Bass guitarist Captain Cliché (you've just got to laugh) made a striking figure with his black & white chef-style trousers and tricorn hat. Guitarist Dr. Lixx (real doctor) certainly knew how to shred and the band was completed by the youngest member Dani Stix (who came up with these names?). A rousing version of Billy Idol's 'Rebel Yell' cemented a triumphant performance.

Sordid Lies provided an object lesson to any young band: work hard but do so with a smile on your face and the majority of the time the crowd will follow. Rock 'n' Roll is supposed to be fun and Sordid Lies certainly knew how to entertain in a fun way.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

Mitch Malloy hit the stage with 'Rock 'n' Roll' and genuinely seemed happy to be playing to approximately one hundred fans, half of which I recognised from Firefest. Twenty years ago Malloy auditioned for the then vacant singer position of a little old band called Van Halen. During his meeting with the legendary guitarist, they wrote the song 'It's The Right Time' that, in my humble opinion, is infinitely better than anything that came out on 'VHIII' a few years later. 'Mission Of Love' from the sensational debut album, now twenty-four years old, was where Malloy hit top gear and the crowd went into overdrive. 'Over The Water' (I believe that this is one of Malloy's personal favourites) continued with another song taken from the eponymous debut. It is hard to believe that 'Stranded In The Middle Of Nowhere' is not a staple part of Malloy's live set as it is obviously a fans' favourite judging by tonight's reaction. The sensational ballads 'Love Song' and 'Our Love Will Never Die' sandwiched the Country-tinged 'Cowboy And The Ballerina'. There was also the cathartic 'My Therapy', the best track from the new album 'Making Noise' by which point the too short a set was already drawing to a conclusion with 'Forever'. The band returned for a two song encore starting with a stonking cover version of Van Halen's 'I'm The One' giving us a small insight into what might have been. That just left time for the crowd to sing themselves hoarse with 'Anything At All'.

Five minutes after finishing Mitch Malloy as back out to meet and greet the fans and those in attendance this evening sure hope he keeps to his promise to return to these shores again next year.

Mark Donnelly

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  June 2019  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
       1  2
  3  4  5  6  7  8  9

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 days, 14 hours ago
  • Raphone : Hello! Purchased FIREWORKS #87 yeasterday and paid by my paypal, but there is still no download link on my account.Can you help? Thanks
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #87 is out now!
  • SeaDog57 : Thanks again Berny
  • Berny : Hi SeaDog57: Apologies!Password can be found in the forum, link was (again) added to the "Fireworks" menu.
  • SeaDog57 : Berny; need a download link for #86 and the pg number for the Code
  • Berny : @Siodmark: Pls. check your mail! Apologies for the troubles, we hope you enjoy the magazine! :)
  • Siodmak : Hello guys! Purchased FIREWORKS #86 and paid by my paypal, but there is no download link on my account. Can you please help me? tnks ; - )
  • Hombre 444 : Got mine reading it now,best Rock Mag out on Market by far.
  • Berny : Fireworks #86 is out now!
  • Johns Band : Happy New year Everyone. Will the music film return.
  • Rocktopia Te : The Rocktopia Team would like to wish you a Merry Christmas! :)
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #85 is out now!
  • Berny : @Bill24: Please follow the instructions at «link» or contact me directly at «email»
  • Bill24 : I cannot unzip the mp3's asking for a password. Same one I use to login with? Please someone help. Thanks.
  • SeaDog57 : thanks Berny
  • Berny : The FREE PDF version of Fireworks #82 is still available, including 88 (!!) bonus MP3 songs Just click on the banner on top of the site. Already 800+ downloads and counting!
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: Apologies! Link was fixed, CD 84 is now available from the FIREWORKS menu on top of the page (for registered members only). Thanks & best wishes, B :)
  • SeaDog57 : Doesn't seem to be a download for bonus cd 84 just 2 identical versions of Bonus CD 83?
  • Rocktopia Te : Interviews with Lordi, Dee Snider, W.A.S.P., Myles Kennedy and many more. Check out the Fireworks & Rocktopia interview sections!
  • Berny : We are proud to premiere the new lyric video by MASS! Check out the news section.
  • Berny : Hi biggywiggymusic: Sorted out, apologies for the delay.
  • biggywiggymu : Hi I just ordered download of 84 - took my PayPal and then it said I didn't pay. Have the transaction number. Can someone help?
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #84 is out now!!
  • amcc1888 : Thanks Berny
  • Berny : @amcc1888: Please check your mail. Many thanks, B.
  • amcc1888 : Hi There i have ordered Fireworks Issue 83 and paid by PayPal but you have charged me twice but the download has not appeared in my account...also sent you a web contact message..anyone there to help me thanks Tony
  • Berny : We proudly present the new lyric video by AMERICAN TEARS, pls. check out our newsfeed!
  • Rocktopia Te : There are now 500 live reviews on Rocktopia! Check out the latest ones, incl. Iron Maiden, Steven Tyler and Steelhouse Festival 2018!
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Purchases were added to your account. Sorry for the troubles, not sure why you are still having issues with the DL store. Pls. check your mail. Many thanks & best wishes, B.
  • Transmet1972 : Sent another email re new purchase. Same download issue. Thanks.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site