Dion Bayman - 'Don't Look Down' http://rocktopia.co.uk/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x200s/58/ce/1c/dion-bayman-dont-look-down-32-1476038416.jpg Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     October 09, 2016    
0.0 (0)
936   0   1   0   0   0





A must for all West Coast/AOR/Melodic Rock fans.

The multi-talented Australian Dion Bayman is back with his fourth release, and the follow-up to 2014's critically acclaimed 'Afterburn'. Fans of 'Afterburn' are going to love this new album, which continues in a similar AOR/West Coast style, albeit a tad on the heavier side.

Multi-talented is a description often over-used. However, not in Bayman's case as on 'Don't Look Down' he writes all the songs, handles all the vocals, plays all the instruments, he's also responsible for recording, producing, mixing and mastering it. The production is first-class, even if a little over-compressed. With 'Don't...' Bayman has once again highlighted his exceptional song-writing skills, which embodies big melodies, huge choruses, loads of keyboards and crunching guitars.

Bayman showcases ten original, top class songs, and you can hear influences from a plethora of classic AOR/Melodic Rock artists. The album kicks off with arguably Bayman's heaviest song to date, the ultra-catchy 'One More Reason', a Bon Jovi style Rocker. '24 Hours a Day' continues in a Bryan Adams/Brad Darrid style, whilst the ultra "radio-friendly" 'Keep Coming Back' tips its hat to Rick Springfield. 'For You' has a Richard Marx style, and any AOR album of this magnitude would not be complete without a Journey influence, and 'This Time' is that track.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

My personal favourite is the magnificent 'Had To Let You Know', with its massive keyboard riff; this should be huge, and could have huge crossover appeal in the Pop market. 'Open Your Heart' and 'Last One' have a more contemporary sound similar to Goo Goo Dolls and Matchbox Twenty respectively, and are a complete contrast to 'It's Only Love' with its eighties style synthesisers that give it a real retro feel, but rarely detracts the listener from another wonderfully well-written song. That just leaves the glorious piano-driven 'Before My Eyes' to conclude a truly fantastic AOR album.

Dion Bayman is another artist who would have been ruling the airwaves had this been 1986. 'Don't Look Down' is a "must" for all West Coast/AOR/Melodic Rock fans, and surely the summer soundtrack for 2016.

Mark Donnelly

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  June 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 day, 13 hours ago
  • Berny : @mattnavy: Pls. click on "Shop" - > "Fireworks Mini Shop" in the TOP menu on Rocktopia or send an e - mail to «email»
  • mattnavy : I cant seem to work out how I buy the latest edition or a years subscription of firework magazines.
  • Berny : Fireworks #79 out now! Ye Banished Privateers video premiere! 14000 words interview with Harem Scarem! New album and live reviews!
  • Rocktopia Te : 20 new album and 10 new live reviews!
  • Berny : Thanks Rob, review was updated!
  • rocktopiarob : Hi in the Bad For Good review - please replace "Rundgren's absurdly genius guitar playing" with "Davey Johnstone's absurdly genius guitar playing"
  • LeChef : Thumbs up!!!
  • Central Elec : Five new live reviews!
  • Hysteria : Wow! GREAT Abums! What a fantastic read!!! Kudos to you guys for including an album review by "The Hoff". KITT will love it!!! : - )
  • Central Elec : Landmark reviews 4991 - 5000 are online
  • Berny : Landmark reviews 4981 - 4990 are online, have fun! :)
  • Central Elec : Landmark Album Reviews 4971 - 4980 are online.
  • Berny : Check out our EXCLUSIVE interview with AndrĂ© Andersen of ROYAL HUNT!
  • Berny : More information can be found here: «link»
  • Berny : @moorby_vj_li: Many thanks for your purchase. If you bought a physical copy of the magazine, you can download the bonus disc from the menu on top (Fireworks - > Bonus CD 77).
  • moorby_vj_li : Hi All, I have purchased Issue 77 but can not see a link to download the music, where would I go, thank you in advance
  • Berny : GRAVE DIGGER exclusive UK video premiere of 'Lawbreaker'! Check out the news!
  • Berny : The new Fireworks section is now live! In the TOP MENU bar, please navigate to "Fireworks" - > "Fireworks Online" to read interviews with Eclipse, Tokyo Motor Fist, House Of Lords, Art Of Anarchy, Battle Beast & Monster Truck.
  • Berny : Many thanks Casper! :)
  • Casper : Thanks Berny ordered
  • Berny : @Casper @all: Fireworks Magazine #78 news item is now online, bonus interviews will follow this weekend. We have some interesting stuff coming in the next couple of days, including an album reviews special.
  • Casper : Berny
  • Casper : sorry Berny
  • Casper : Sorry Berny
  • Casper : Thanks Benny
  • Berny : @Casper: Fireworks 78 is already avaiable from the Mini % Donwload Stores on Rocktopia. The full press release as well as the updated FW section will be posted tomorrow. Thanks for your patience!
  • Casper : Fireworks 78 any news
  • Berny : @EDUARDVH: Thank you! :)

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us