Candlebox - 'Disappearing In Airports' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     October 11, 2016    
0.0 (0)
3587   0   1   0   0   0

Ear-pleasing, sometimes surprising, but still rarely invigorating.

'Disappearing In Airports' is definitely an album that doesn't want to be defined by words. This is Candlebox's sixth album, a silky blend of genres that embodies the definition of "contemporary".

'Only Because Of You' starts smooth, deep and golden like treacle, rippling with a rhythm section gently howling with its own voice; still complementary to the lead, but it adds another dimension. The single 'Vexacious' has an infectious staccato rhythm that builds into a short and sweet chorus. Candlebox's Grungier past breaks out in the bridge, though it doesn't fit in the realms of clean, smart production. 'Supernova' kicks it up a notch; reminiscent of Funk band Jamiroquai – this Jazzy sound suits the band, and the added contrast of the harder chorus works better. 'Alive At Last' is slower, but that doesn't stop vocalist Kevin Martin (the only original member left in the band) from throwing a bit of grit into the vocals – and it only gets grittier from here.

'I've Got A Gun' is modern Soft Rock; the vocals admittedly more boy band than Rock band, but Mike Leslie's "in your face" guitar sound is the kind of enlivenment the album needs. 'The Bridge' is what older fans might be looking for. The sound is more akin to 'Lucy' (1995) and is straight-forward, catchy and definitely has more edge. 'Crazy' dips into a darker sound, but increasingly lives up to its name, and you should love it all the more for that.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

The band sounds better when they seem to be losing it a little; Jazzing up the sound with elasticity so it never sounds messy, only skilful and emotional. 'God's Gift' gets even closer to a straight-up Hard Rock sound, though the surprising shift in pace for the chorus doesn't do the track too many favours. 'Keep On Waiting' has more depth in texture, more distortion in guitar sound, whilst 'All That We Got' breaks out in uplifting melodic lines and a contemporary blend of Rock-style vocals with soft, cushy guitar.

All in all, it would be wrong to cast Candlebox's sound as one thing or another. The album is tightly performed; it's laid-back listening that doesn't intrude too much – there are no extremes here! It's not as heavy or as wayward as their older stuff, which fans may or may not like. In summary, 'Disappearing In Airports is ear-pleasing, sometimes surprising, but still rarely invigorating.

Sophie Brownlee

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  January 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 5 days, 4 hours ago
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???
  • Berny : @tomandpam: Many thanks for your purchase. The download instructions were sent yesterday, please contact me at «email» should you haven't received the email.
  • tomandpam : I paid for a download on issue 89 and didn't receive the download. Please let me know when I can get it. Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Fireworks Magazine #89 will be available at selected UK based newsagents on December 16th. The digital version can already be purchased in our Download Store.
  • zom414 : When's the next mag due for release?
  • Berny : @el nowy: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. Pls. check your mail!
  • el nowy : Hi, how long does it take for my download license to be available? I purchased it 3 days ago. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @l.thijs: Apologies for the delay, your digital copy can now be downloaded from your "My Downloads" section.
  • l.thijs : Hi Fireworks Magazine. I made a purchase on 10 nov and I paid by Paypall. I bought the #85 fireworks mag download for GBP3,50. But I didn,t receive anything. Please can you find out what's going on?
  • kazooba : I have digital versions of every issue from 27 thru 88, any way I can get issues 1 - 26 with cd's digitally?
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: The links are in the Fireworks menu. Have you tried scrolling down? Maybe your screen size is too small...
  • SeaDog57 : Berny; there are only links up to Fireworks 86. Which is kinda strange because i already downloaded CD 87 but i'm looking for the link to CD 88...Chris
  • Rocktopia Te : @Johns Band: Can you please contact us here: «email»
  • Johns Band : Fireworks Magazine 88 did not arrive by post. paid by PayPal. Any Suggestion.
  • Berny : @bpomper: Can you pls. contact the Rocktopia team here: «email»
  • bpomper : i found the problem..old email i can not access.i have tried to change it by editing my info but it wont allow. any suggestions
  • Berny : @bpomper: A reply was sent yesterday, We recommend checking your spam/junk mail to see if our message was filtered there. The magazine was already sent to your shipping address. Please let me know if you do not receive it within the next couple of days. Thanks for your patience!
  • bpomper : Thanks didnt of that. I still have not heard about fireworks 88 was it sent out. Thankyou
  • Rocktopia Te : @bpomper: For security reasons, we removed your previous message. Please do not post your private e - mail address. Many thanks for your understanding.
  • bpomper : Thanks for the reply. I see download but can you confirm that hardcopy was or is sent ou .thanks.the email i used is inder the contact me info of the website
  • Berny : @bpomper: Apologies for your troubles. Where did you send the email to? We haven't received anything. I will send you a longer reply via mail. Also, you can download the free CD from the "Fireworks" menu on top, but the CD links are only shown if you are logged in.
  • bpomper : 3rd email inquiring about my purchase of fireworks #88. i purchased on the 2oth of sept and today is the 24 with no response...paypal has taken the payment. should i have a down load of the cd for mu usa magazine. Looking forward to an answer
  • bpomper : hello i purchased fireworks #88 through paypal on9/23 and have not recieved an email from rocktopia. purchase is for a hard copy of the mag. should i have cd download instructions.when should i expect it
  • Berny : @Johns Band: I've just sent you an e - mail. Best regards, B.
  • Johns Band : I have ordered FM Live video and £1.99 taken from my PayPal account. How do I download video. Something gone wrong at processing with Fireworks. The links to report it do not work.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site