CD Reviews

Status Quo - 'Aquostic 2: That's A Fact!' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     October 21, 2016    
0.0 (0)
4549   0   1   0   0   0






When Status Quo announced that they were releasing an acoustic album, there was some skepticism. Yet when 'Aquostic' landed in 2014, it turned out to be a massive success, hitting the Top 5, going Gold and being Quo's best-selling album for eighteen years. Taking beloved songs and re-working them unplugged, with accordions, strings and female backing singers, showed the hit singles and some deeper album cuts off in a brand new light.

With anything successful, a sequel is usually demanded and as a result 'Aquostic II: That's A Fact!' is the result. Quo wisely haven't strayed too far from the formula that made the first album so popular. New workings of anthems like 'Backwater', 'In The Army Now', 'Dear John', 'Hold You Back' and particularly 'Roll Over Lay Down' sound great with their new arrangements, while other tracks have been selected which are less obvious. The title track is a great opener, one I must admit I'd mostly forgotten from 'Blue For You'. The band also cover a variety of eras, going right back to their early years with 'Ice In The Sun', thought to picking 'Lover Of The Human Race' from the underrated 'Thirsty Work' album from 1994. More recent fare like 'Belavista Man' from 2005's 'The Party Ain't Over Yet' gives Rick Parfitt chance to take over from Francis Rossi on the vocals. 'Jam Side Down' from 'Heavy Traffic' is another choice cut and the album rounds out with 'Resurrection' from '1982'.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

In the interests of keeping things fresh, two new songs, 'One For The Road' and 'One Of Everything' are included on the standard release – penned by keyboard player Andy Bown – both of which are very good and nestle comfortably next to the more familiar material.

As well as a standard fourteen track release, there is also a "deluxe" version, which adds another new song, Rossi's 'Is Someone Rocking Your Heart' alongside acoustic renditions of 'Lies', 'Little Dreamer', 'Living On An Island' and 'Rockers Rollin'. The deluxe version also adds a second disc with six live tracks from their 'Aquostic' show in Stuttgart. Fans also need to be aware that there is a limited edition double vinyl release too, which omits the deluxe live tracks, but has all nineteen album tracks and adds one additional one, 'For You'.

If you enjoyed 'Aquostic', I see no reason why you won't love 'Aquostic II' just as much. Excellent!

James Gaden

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  February 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
       1  2
  3  4  5  6  7  8  9

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 weeks, 4 days ago
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???
  • Berny : @tomandpam: Many thanks for your purchase. The download instructions were sent yesterday, please contact me at «email» should you haven't received the email.
  • tomandpam : I paid for a download on issue 89 and didn't receive the download. Please let me know when I can get it. Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Fireworks Magazine #89 will be available at selected UK based newsagents on December 16th. The digital version can already be purchased in our Download Store.
  • zom414 : When's the next mag due for release?
  • Berny : @el nowy: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. Pls. check your mail!
  • el nowy : Hi, how long does it take for my download license to be available? I purchased it 3 days ago. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @l.thijs: Apologies for the delay, your digital copy can now be downloaded from your "My Downloads" section.
  • l.thijs : Hi Fireworks Magazine. I made a purchase on 10 nov and I paid by Paypall. I bought the #85 fireworks mag download for GBP3,50. But I didn,t receive anything. Please can you find out what's going on?
  • kazooba : I have digital versions of every issue from 27 thru 88, any way I can get issues 1 - 26 with cd's digitally?
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: The links are in the Fireworks menu. Have you tried scrolling down? Maybe your screen size is too small...
  • SeaDog57 : Berny; there are only links up to Fireworks 86. Which is kinda strange because i already downloaded CD 87 but i'm looking for the link to CD 88...Chris
  • Rocktopia Te : @Johns Band: Can you please contact us here: «email»
  • Johns Band : Fireworks Magazine 88 did not arrive by post. paid by PayPal. Any Suggestion.
  • Berny : @bpomper: Can you pls. contact the Rocktopia team here: «email»
  • bpomper : i found the problem..old email i can not access.i have tried to change it by editing my info but it wont allow. any suggestions
  • Berny : @bpomper: A reply was sent yesterday, We recommend checking your spam/junk mail to see if our message was filtered there. The magazine was already sent to your shipping address. Please let me know if you do not receive it within the next couple of days. Thanks for your patience!
  • bpomper : Thanks didnt of that. I still have not heard about fireworks 88 was it sent out. Thankyou
  • Rocktopia Te : @bpomper: For security reasons, we removed your previous message. Please do not post your private e - mail address. Many thanks for your understanding.
  • bpomper : Thanks for the reply. I see download but can you confirm that hardcopy was or is sent ou .thanks.the email i used is inder the contact me info of the website
  • Berny : @bpomper: Apologies for your troubles. Where did you send the email to? We haven't received anything. I will send you a longer reply via mail. Also, you can download the free CD from the "Fireworks" menu on top, but the CD links are only shown if you are logged in.
  • bpomper : 3rd email inquiring about my purchase of fireworks #88. i purchased on the 2oth of sept and today is the 24 with no response...paypal has taken the payment. should i have a down load of the cd for mu usa magazine. Looking forward to an answer
  • bpomper : hello i purchased fireworks #88 through paypal on9/23 and have not recieved an email from rocktopia. purchase is for a hard copy of the mag. should i have cd download instructions.when should i expect it
  • Berny : @Johns Band: I've just sent you an e - mail. Best regards, B.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site