DVD & Blu-ray Reviews

Ayreon - 'The Theater Equation' http://rocktopia.co.uk/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x200s/b6/ea/2c/Ayreon-The-Theater-Equation-90-1477249953.jpg Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     October 23, 2016    
0.0 (0)
1783   0   1   0   0   0




Check out this intriguing "musical" which has the potential to open up a whole new world of cognitive and aural discovery.

'The Theater Equation' is a DVD/CD package that offers a unique 2015 live performance of Ayreon's 2004 album 'The Human Equation' and the brainchild of Arjen Lucassen. In short, it's a Rock Opera of stunning breadth and ingenuity, performed here by an all-star cast.

While some of Lucassen's more space-enthused science fiction might have more limited appeal, 'The Theater Equation' is more grounded in everyday human significance. The story goes something like this; A cut-throat business type is involved in a mysterious car accident and falls into a coma. His condition induces a twenty day psycho-drama, with various emotions and facets of his character playing out a complex inner struggle as our victim and hero tries to come to terms with who he is, his family past, his relationships, his life choices, betrayal and infidelity. At stake is his will and determination to emerge from the coma and resume life as a stronger, wiser and better man. Each day of the struggle is marked by a different track, as we move from 'Vigil' and 'Isolation' to 'Realisation', 'Disclosure' and 'Confrontation'. The album's twenty tracks run together and are presented here in two seamless and flowing Acts.

Lucassen has managed to reassemble many of the album's original vocalists, including James LaBrie as the lead character, Marcela Bovio as his wife, Heather Findlay as 'Love', Magnus Ekwall as 'Pride', Irene Jansen as 'Passion', Devon Graves as 'Agony' and Eric Clayton imperious in his Geoff Tate-like delivery of 'Reason'. In some interesting changes from the original, Mike Mills is extremely entertaining in the dual role of 'Rage/Father', while Mikael Åkerfeldt is replaced by Anneke van Giersbergen who brings her incomparable talents and a neat gender switch to the role of 'Fear'. Lucassen passes up his own role as 'Best Friend', his place taken by a chilled looking Jermain van der Bogt.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

Musically, Lucassen has assembled a fine band around long-time collaborator Ed Warby (drums), with guitars provided by Marcel Coenen and Freek Gielen, keyboard and synth duties shared by Erik van Ittersum and Ruben Wijga with Johan van Stratum on bass. Jeroen Goossens (flutes and woodwinds) reprises his studio role, with the band completed by Maaike Peterse (cello) and Ben Mathot (violin). The band is held constant for the full performance, without the numerous cameos of the studio version. Strings, flutes and woodwind instruments blend perfectly with more conventional Rock instrumentation, producing a passionate and, at times, beautiful musical tour-de-force – a typical Lucassen blend of Classic Rock, Prog, Folk and Metal.

There are superb performances throughout, and the production is extremely well staged. The whole set is open to view, and there is always something interesting going on, whether musically, vocally or visually; at times, there's even a touch of 'Les Misérables' about proceedings. The band occupy a fixed position at the back of the stage, while the multi-level set is supported by back screen visuals. Also compelling here is the contribution of a nineteen strong rabble-rousing "Epic Rock Choir".

Lucassen himself finally puts in an appearance at the end, looking a bit like a Garth stunt double from Wayne's World in a suit that could be taken for a pair of sparkly pyjamas. He's clearly his own man, and I guess ours is not to reason why. The human equation, indeed! Fans of Lucassen and Ayreon will lap this up. Those unfamiliar with his work are encouraged to check out this intriguing "musical" which has the potential to open up a whole new world of cognitive and aural discovery.

Michael Anthony

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  February 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 day, 2 hours ago
  • Berny : @Rob: Done! :)
  • robmckenzie : Hi Bernie, urgent change please. In the Moonkings concert review - please replace "the original John Syke's one" with "obviously his sublime '1987' album version"
  • Berny : Anyway, we posted 90+ album & live reviews in February. Please enjoy & share!
  • Rocktopia Te : Don't trigger CEB, you know what will happen ....
  • Berny : None that I am aware of ... BRUCE??? :D ;)
  • Hysteria : @ Berny: So no adult toys in the Rocktopis shop?? :D
  • Berny : Apologies for the "Shout Here" spammers. We'll take care of this issue asap.
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us