David Gilmour Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     October 31, 2016    
0.0 (0)
3175   0   1   0   0   0

David Gilmour - Royal Albert Hall, London (UK) - 29 September 2016

At the end of my review of last year's show, I wrote that it would probably be another ten years before he played again. How wrong could I be? Just a year had passed and yet here we were, back at the Albert, for the fourth of five nights, with the knowledge that the previous night saw Benedict Cumberbatch on stage singing Roger Water's part of 'Comfortably Numb'. Would there be anybody here tonight? I doubted it. That said, there were some personnel changes from the show last year. Phil Manzenera wasn't here, his place being taken by Chester Kamen, Jon Carin was replaced by Greg Philinganes and the backing vocalists were joined by Lucy Jules.

David Gilmour Live 1

The concert started in a fairly relaxed fashion with the instrumental '5 A.M.' to get everyone in the mood, followed by 'Rattle That Lock' and 'Faces Of Stone', exactly the same as last year. We then had a change in proceedings with Pink Floyd's 'What Do You Want From Me' before returning to last year's running order with 'The Blue'. What turned out to be a highlight of the show was another change from last year, the version of 'The Great Gig In The Sky' was performed by the female backing singers. It was a rendition that was very, very close to the original, a point that wasn't missed on the gathering tonight. The rest of the first half was exactly as last year, with 'A Boat Lies Waiting', 'Wish You Were Here', 'Money', 'In Any Tongue' and 'High Hopes'. I have to add that the vocal harmonies in '...Waiting' were sublime.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

After a twenty minute interval, it was time to resume proceedings with the second half, which kicked off with another deviance from last year in the shape of 'One Of These Days', a track that was instantly recognisable with its echoed bass intro and the only thing missing was the flying pig. 'Shine On You Crazy Diamond Pts I-V' was also instantly recognisable with its extended chord intro, it was a track most of the hall sang along to. 'Fat Old Sun' followed, before the final change from last year, another Floyd song 'Coming Back To Life'. One thing I had noticed at this stage was that there was a distinct lack of lasers for this show, which was a little unusual. There was a brief flash earlier in the evening, but nothing since then. 'On An Island', 'Us And Them', 'Today', 'Sorrow' and 'Run Like Hell' (with all the band donning sunglasses) took us to the end of the main set. After a short break, they were back on with 'Time', with the iconic clocks animation, and then we knew that there was only one thing missing. And, as the opening chord to 'Comfortably Numb' filled the hall, it was closely followed by the lasers, which tended to suggest that to some extent they had now been fixed, although they were not as extensive as last year.

David Gilmour Live 2

So, that was it yet again. Another excellent show and one that I felt was slightly better than last year musically. Do I think that David Gilmour will come out and play here again next year? I have no idea, but what I think would be a welcome development would be if he enjoyed these shows so much that he was willing to do shows in other parts of the country. Oh, is that a tour?

Review and photos by Andy Brailsford

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  April 2019  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  1  2  3  4  5  6  7
  8  91011121314

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 month ago
  • Hombre 444 : Got mine reading it now,best Rock Mag out on Market by far.
  • Berny : Fireworks #86 is out now!
  • Johns Band : Happy New year Everyone. Will the music film return.
  • Rocktopia Te : The Rocktopia Team would like to wish you a Merry Christmas! :)
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #85 is out now!
  • Berny : @Bill24: Please follow the instructions at «link» or contact me directly at «email»
  • Bill24 : I cannot unzip the mp3's asking for a password. Same one I use to login with? Please someone help. Thanks.
  • SeaDog57 : thanks Berny
  • Berny : The FREE PDF version of Fireworks #82 is still available, including 88 (!!) bonus MP3 songs Just click on the banner on top of the site. Already 800+ downloads and counting!
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: Apologies! Link was fixed, CD 84 is now available from the FIREWORKS menu on top of the page (for registered members only). Thanks & best wishes, B :)
  • SeaDog57 : Doesn't seem to be a download for bonus cd 84 just 2 identical versions of Bonus CD 83?
  • Rocktopia Te : Interviews with Lordi, Dee Snider, W.A.S.P., Myles Kennedy and many more. Check out the Fireworks & Rocktopia interview sections!
  • Berny : We are proud to premiere the new lyric video by MASS! Check out the news section.
  • Berny : Hi biggywiggymusic: Sorted out, apologies for the delay.
  • biggywiggymu : Hi I just ordered download of 84 - took my PayPal and then it said I didn't pay. Have the transaction number. Can someone help?
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #84 is out now!!
  • amcc1888 : Thanks Berny
  • Berny : @amcc1888: Please check your mail. Many thanks, B.
  • amcc1888 : Hi There i have ordered Fireworks Issue 83 and paid by PayPal but you have charged me twice but the download has not appeared in my account...also sent you a web contact message..anyone there to help me thanks Tony
  • Berny : We proudly present the new lyric video by AMERICAN TEARS, pls. check out our newsfeed!
  • Rocktopia Te : There are now 500 live reviews on Rocktopia! Check out the latest ones, incl. Iron Maiden, Steven Tyler and Steelhouse Festival 2018!
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Purchases were added to your account. Sorry for the troubles, not sure why you are still having issues with the DL store. Pls. check your mail. Many thanks & best wishes, B.
  • Transmet1972 : Sent another email re new purchase. Same download issue. Thanks.
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Support received your message, I already sent a reply.
  • Transmet1972 : Site wont allow me to send ticket to support.
  • Transmet1972 : I cant access the files for 2 downloadable mags i purchased. Site wint
  • Graham : Hi guys i wonder if anyone knows what happend to Greg Parker who formed the band Ozz that released 2 Lps in 1980,
  • Berny : HEAVEN'S TRAIL premiere their new lyric video on Rocktopia. Check out the news section ... «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : @Berny did another lyric video for ROYAL HUNT. Pls. check out our news aection and watch the video on YouTube ... «link»
  • Hysteria : @ Rocktopia Team: GREAT SONG & VIDEO!!! Thanks for sharing!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site