DVD & Blu-ray Reviews

Renaissance - 'Live At The Union Chapel' http://rocktopia.co.uk/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x200s/05/b8/9f/Renaissance-Live-At-The-Union-Chapel-90-1480884462.jpg Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     December 04, 2016    
0.0 (0)
809   0   1   0   0   0

This is a homely, happy, hopeful return from a band who made stirring music and can make us smile even now.

What a lovely setting for the return of such a gentle, esoteric, Folk, Progressive band. Off the back of a European tour and with some fairly new members, this DVD, housed confusingly in a CD digi-pack, is in sumptuous surroundings for such gorgeous music, all Gothic stones and deep wood, with a light show of blues, greens and purples adding to the warmth the crowd clearly, though genteelly, show.

The band mainstays are older of course, which is more of an issue for one person. Anne Haslam. When she joined Renaissance, her almost Operatic range added more depth and oddness that marked them out as purveyors of a different music, something that could really take you on a journey. But now it is many years since they last did this, will it be serviceable? Will it actually delight? Oh yes, sharp and a little wavery she may be on occasion, but those pipes are all there, particularly on opener 'Prologue', when she soars majestically but with a charmingly unassuming quality.

You won't get any Freddie Mercury theatrics here, the most Rock and Roll they get is Rave Tesar, hunched over his keys and sporting shades, a thing of wonder when duelling with Tom Brislin on 'Ocean Gypsy' – the playing is what this crowd have come to see, delivered with real warmth and beautiful but laidback precision.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

The sound is just pristine (Tesar again), the cuts are languorous and understated; the feel is of old friends meeting for a jam. Warmth is clear, happiness is apparent. 'Ashes Are Burning' is almost as gorgeous as we know it can be, with a charming lazy Rock groove and a stunning bass solo from Leo Traversa, in fact as this is the closer, they all have a go, showing more chops than a lumberjack on speed. 'The Mystic And The Muse' and 'Mother Russia' are so dramatic and, of course, 'Northern Lights' is a delight, taking us back to a simpler time.

Not overburdened with forty-eight prime Renaissance cuts, with only ten on offer and the only extra being a simple interview, this is a homely, happy, hopeful return from a band who made stirring music and can make us smile even now. It made me reappraise them and I'm glad I did; make room for this and it will warm those cockles.

Steve Swift

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  June 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 6 days, 7 hours ago
  • Berny : Fireworks #79 out now! Ye Banished Privateers video premiere! 14000 words interview with Harem Scarem! New album and live reviews!
  • Rocktopia Te : 20 new album and 10 new live reviews!
  • Berny : Thanks Rob, review was updated!
  • rocktopiarob : Hi in the Bad For Good review - please replace "Rundgren's absurdly genius guitar playing" with "Davey Johnstone's absurdly genius guitar playing"
  • LeChef : Thumbs up!!!
  • Central Elec : Five new live reviews!
  • Hysteria : Wow! GREAT Abums! What a fantastic read!!! Kudos to you guys for including an album review by "The Hoff". KITT will love it!!! : - )
  • Central Elec : Landmark reviews 4991 - 5000 are online
  • Berny : Landmark reviews 4981 - 4990 are online, have fun! :)
  • Central Elec : Landmark Album Reviews 4971 - 4980 are online.
  • Berny : Check out our EXCLUSIVE interview with André Andersen of ROYAL HUNT!
  • Berny : More information can be found here: «link»
  • Berny : @moorby_vj_li: Many thanks for your purchase. If you bought a physical copy of the magazine, you can download the bonus disc from the menu on top (Fireworks - > Bonus CD 77).
  • moorby_vj_li : Hi All, I have purchased Issue 77 but can not see a link to download the music, where would I go, thank you in advance
  • Berny : GRAVE DIGGER exclusive UK video premiere of 'Lawbreaker'! Check out the news!
  • Berny : The new Fireworks section is now live! In the TOP MENU bar, please navigate to "Fireworks" - > "Fireworks Online" to read interviews with Eclipse, Tokyo Motor Fist, House Of Lords, Art Of Anarchy, Battle Beast & Monster Truck.
  • Berny : Many thanks Casper! :)
  • Casper : Thanks Berny ordered
  • Berny : @Casper @all: Fireworks Magazine #78 news item is now online, bonus interviews will follow this weekend. We have some interesting stuff coming in the next couple of days, including an album reviews special.
  • Casper : Berny
  • Casper : sorry Berny
  • Casper : Sorry Berny
  • Casper : Thanks Benny
  • Berny : @Casper: Fireworks 78 is already avaiable from the Mini % Donwload Stores on Rocktopia. The full press release as well as the updated FW section will be posted tomorrow. Thanks for your patience!
  • Casper : Fireworks 78 any news
  • Berny : @EDUARDVH: Thank you! :)
  • Hysteria : Great new reviews guys! :)
  • SeaDog57 : thanks Berny I sent the email

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us