DVD & Blu-ray Reviews

The Who - 'Live In Hyde Park' http://rocktopia.co.uk/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x200s/d7/d0/a5/the-who-live-in-hyde-park-81-1480884809.jpg Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     December 04, 2016    
0.0 (0)
1512   0   1   0   0   0






Recording in June 2015 to celebrate fifty years in the business, The Who took to the stage at Hyde Park in front of a massive crowd to blast through their stunning back catalogue. This DVD captures that performance, interspersed with a few words from guitarist/song-writer Pete Townshend and vocalist Roger Daltrey.

Kicking off with their usual opener 'Can't Explain', it's immediately apparent they are in top form, with Daltrey's gruff voice sounding commanding and confident, while Townshend windmills in typical energetic style. Backed by huge video screens, the show has a big visual element to it as they tear through classics such as 'The Kids Are Alright', 'Who Are You', 'My Generation', 'Behind Blue Eyes' 'Baba O'Riley', 'Won't Get Fooled Again' and many more.

At certain points the show cuts away to interview snippets with Townshend and Daltrey, which I often find annoying in concert videos, but here it works quite well, as the two veterans offer interesting insights as to how they approach life in The Who, as well as some amusing comments, like Townshend's observation of "what shall we do to celebrate fifty years? I know, we'll work you to fucking death!"

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

Comments also come from Iggy Pop and Paul Weller, but the music is the main attraction here. Their two Rock Operas are well represented, with a six song medley from 'Tommy' which features 'Pinball Wizard and 'See Me, Feel Me', along with a couple of tracks from 'Quadrophenia' in the form of 'I'm One' and 'Love Reign O'er Me'. The performance of 'The Seeker' is moved into the bonus section of the DVD, accompanied by relatively pointless slideshows set to studio versions of 'You Better You Bet' and 'Squeeze Box'.

You could make the argument that without Keith Moon on drums and John Entwistle on bass, it's not really The Who, and you could also bemoan the amount of extra musicians on stage. However, with the legendary Pino Palladino handling the bass, Ringo Starr's son (and Moon protégé) Zak Starkey on drums and the addition of Townshend's younger brother Simon to help flesh out the guitars and the backing vocals, the band more than do justice to the material.

Precious few acts last this amount of time and have this many great songs to draw from. Daltrey makes the comment about the band that "it's as good now as it's ever been" and from what I witnessed here, this is one of the rare occasions you can agree. Phenomenal.

James Gaden

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  March 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 16 hours, 14 minutes ago
  • Rocktopia Te : Two news interviews in the Rocktopia Interviews Section: LITTLE CAESAR & GEISHAS IN VITRO. Enjoy! :) «link»
  • Berny : Fireworks #82 is our now! Check out the free interviews with Royal Hunt, Stryper, Kamelot, James Christian, Signal Red & Animal Drive!
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Many thanks for your purchase! Your copy will be sent to your registered address this week.
  • Johns Band : I paid for Fireworks 82 Magazine, when will it be sent. Best Regards - John
  • Berny : @Rob: Done! :)
  • robmckenzie : Hi Bernie, urgent change please. In the Moonkings concert review - please replace "the original John Syke's one" with "obviously his sublime '1987' album version"
  • Berny : Anyway, we posted 90+ album & live reviews in February. Please enjoy & share!
  • Rocktopia Te : Don't trigger CEB, you know what will happen ....
  • Berny : None that I am aware of ... BRUCE??? :D ;)
  • Hysteria : @ Berny: So no adult toys in the Rocktopis shop?? :D
  • Berny : Apologies for the "Shout Here" spammers. We'll take care of this issue asap.
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us