DVD & Blu-ray Reviews

Kiss - 'Kiss Rocks Vegas' http://rocktopia.co.uk/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x200s/85/a6/92/Kiss-Kiss-Rocks-Vegas-43-1480885129.jpg Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     December 04, 2016    
0.0 (0)
1022   0   1   0   0   0





Illustrates perfectly why this band don't just endure, instead they are positively thriving as they continue on well into their fifth decade.

It may have taken two years to hit our screens, but 'KISS Rocks Vegas' is the celebration of the band reaching the ripe old age of forty. Captured during their 2014 residency at The Joint at Hard Rock Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas, KISS brought all their much loved toys out to play in, what for them was, a compact indoor venue. The production values on and off stage are simply off the charts, screens almost as big as the stage itself flanking it either side, while the equally impressive visuals behind Eric Singer's drum riser (which of course rises even further as the show goes on) extend up and across the ceiling. Explosions boom and bang throughout, while Gene Simmons spits blood, Tommy Thayer shoots rockets from the neck of his guitar and Paul Stanley 'flies' above the crowd before smashing his six-string on the stage. Yes, we have come to expect all this platform raising, choreographed bombast and yet, witnessed through this Blu-ray/DVD/2CD coffee table book set, there's still no denying that KISS are the hottest band in the land.

Put aside the hot air expelled on social media by the God Of Thunder, or the never ending gimmicky merchandise, and simply revel in the sight of, an admittedly older than we'd like to remember, band delivering the sort of show that many have tried and failed to emulate. Sixteen songs spread across 85 minutes hold only one or two surprises – the inclusion of newish track 'Hell Or Hallelujah' being one, the omission of classic oldie 'Cold Gin' another, while a snatch of The Who's 'Won't Get Fooled Again' in the middle of 'Lick It Up' is a clever addition given the laser show taking place. However, from 'Detroit Rock City' opening the show with the band stepping through a stage wide screen that splits down the middle, through the still mighty 'Parasite', via Stanley singing 'Love Gun' from a platform at the rear of the hall, to the iconic show closer 'Rock And Roll All Night', it's still hard not to marvel at how good this band are. Simmons may be chubbier than his imposing younger self and Stanley may not quite hold the high notes as well as he once did, but the sights and sounds still hold you transfixed. Purists will decry that Ace Frehley and Peter Criss are still touring clubs or sitting at home as the flames shoot from the stage. Yet it becomes surprisingly easy to view the Spaceman and Cat as the characters they always were and simply get carried away as the pair now in those roles (Thayer and Singer) ape their predecessors superbly, possibly (probably), in the process, surpassing what the originals could bring to this party now.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

The production from Thayer is impeccable, the live atmosphere caught superbly, while the direction from David DeHaven is slick and smooth, although the quick cutting from camera to camera, which obviously takes in shots from different nights in the residency, can be frustrating. The guitar solo in 'Creatures Of The Night' proving a distraction, as it finds Thayer popping up in front, behind and then next to Stanley, all in the blink of an eye – although it's a minor complaint.

As if all that wasn't enough, the deluxe book (other cheaper versions are available) is packed with superb live shots and comes with an exclusive, live acoustic CD of an "unmasked" show (seemingly filmed in the hotel lobby) that is also found on the DVD and Blu-ray discs. Containing another seven, stripped back tracks, not only do 'Hard Luck Woman', 'Coming Home' and 'Love Her All I Can' highlight how strong the song-writing of KISS can be, but also how impressive the singing of the whole band still is; especially Simmons.

The recorded catalogue of KISS has long been underrated but it's always been in the live arena that they've set their bar highest and watching these shows it becomes impossible to deny that they're still doing just that. Vegas may be famed for its casinos, but 'KISS Rocks Vegas' is no gamble, instead it illustrates perfectly why this band don't just endure, instead they are positively thriving as they continue on well into their fifth decade.

Steven Reid

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  July 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
       1  2
  3  4  5  6  7  8  9

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 6 days, 8 hours ago
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.
  • mattnavy : I bought years membership two weeks ago, commencing from the latest edition. Nothing has turned up. Can you let me know if there has been a problem.
  • Berny : 25 new album reviews incl. Harem Scarem, Mr. Big, Bonfire, Mostly Autumn, TEN, Cheap Trick and many more! Check out our Revíews section!
  • Berny : @mattnavy: Pls. click on "Shop" - > "Fireworks Mini Shop" in the TOP menu on Rocktopia or send an e - mail to «email»
  • mattnavy : I cant seem to work out how I buy the latest edition or a years subscription of firework magazines.
  • Berny : Fireworks #79 out now! Ye Banished Privateers video premiere! 14000 words interview with Harem Scarem! New album and live reviews!
  • Rocktopia Te : 20 new album and 10 new live reviews!
  • Berny : Thanks Rob, review was updated!
  • rocktopiarob : Hi in the Bad For Good review - please replace "Rundgren's absurdly genius guitar playing" with "Davey Johnstone's absurdly genius guitar playing"
  • LeChef : Thumbs up!!!
  • Central Elec : Five new live reviews!
  • Hysteria : Wow! GREAT Abums! What a fantastic read!!! Kudos to you guys for including an album review by "The Hoff". KITT will love it!!! : - )
  • Central Elec : Landmark reviews 4991 - 5000 are online
  • Berny : Landmark reviews 4981 - 4990 are online, have fun! :)
  • Central Elec : Landmark Album Reviews 4971 - 4980 are online.
  • Berny : Check out our EXCLUSIVE interview with André Andersen of ROYAL HUNT!
  • Berny : More information can be found here: «link»
  • Berny : @moorby_vj_li: Many thanks for your purchase. If you bought a physical copy of the magazine, you can download the bonus disc from the menu on top (Fireworks - > Bonus CD 77).
  • moorby_vj_li : Hi All, I have purchased Issue 77 but can not see a link to download the music, where would I go, thank you in advance
  • Berny : GRAVE DIGGER exclusive UK video premiere of 'Lawbreaker'! Check out the news!
  • Berny : The new Fireworks section is now live! In the TOP MENU bar, please navigate to "Fireworks" - > "Fireworks Online" to read interviews with Eclipse, Tokyo Motor Fist, House Of Lords, Art Of Anarchy, Battle Beast & Monster Truck.
  • Berny : Many thanks Casper! :)
  • Casper : Thanks Berny ordered
  • Berny : @Casper @all: Fireworks Magazine #78 news item is now online, bonus interviews will follow this weekend. We have some interesting stuff coming in the next couple of days, including an album reviews special.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us