Tom Galley - The Creator Of Phenomena - 'Blind Faith' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     November 28, 2010    
0.0 (0)
4300   0   1   0   0   0

One of the surprise highlights of the year.

Between 1984 and 1993 Tom Galley, along with his brother and one time Whitesnake guitarist Mel, recruited an all-star cast which included Brian May, Glenn Hughes, Cozy Powell, Neil Murray and Scott Gorham, among others and released three fantastic hard rock concept albums under the Phenomena banner. That third album completed the story arc of the concept, although Tom went on to resurrect the project in 2006 using the name PsychoFantasy, with many of those big name contributors happy to jump on board again. Four years down the line Tom has once again brought together an impressive list of musicians to realise his dream and ‘Blind Faith’ is the second instalment in the PsychoFantasy series.

With the sad death in 2008 of Tom’s brother Mel, the guest list this time also includes impressive cameos from guitarists such as Ian Crichton (Saga), Stefan Lindholm (Vindictiv), Jim Kirkpatrick (FM) and session man extraordinaire Tommy Denander, while the vocalists are of a similar calibre. Mike DeMeo (Masterplan/Riot) graces the atmospheric ‘The Sky Is Falling’, which is a great brooding hard rocker that introduces the album extremely well, before new Saga frontman Rob Moratti takes over for the progressive folk vibe of the title track. Moratti’s tone and the songs structure brings a more melodic Threshold to mind and it is a recipe that works extremely well in this setting. The galloping riff and insistent drums of ‘Fighting’ are perfect for Primal Fear’s Ralph Scheepers’ roar, before the majestically powerful bellow of one time Sabbath singer Tony Martin drives the strident riff and haunting keyboards of ‘Liar’.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

Next up is Robin Beck, who I have to admit is not a favourite vocalist of mine. However her performance on ‘I Was Gonna Tell You Tonight’ is one of the strongest I’ve heard from her and the song is a perfect fit for her full on delivery. The overly dramatic performance on ‘Angels Don’t Cry’ from Salute/Last Autumn’s Dream frontman Mikael Erlandsson and the harsh blasts of guitar he howls over, does seem out of place and even with a gloriously melodic chorus it is the only weak moment on an otherwise excellent album. Heartland’s Chris Ousey puts things firmly back on track with his passionate vocals on ‘If You Love Her’, working perfectly with the backing choir and slow deliberate stomp that holds together the blistering guitar playing of Denander. Moratti is back for the slow building ballad ‘House Of Love’ with its wonderful string arrangements, before FM’s Steve Overland delivers the type of peerless vocal he has become synonymous with on the gloriously melodic and very FM like ‘Don’t Ever Give Your Heart Away’, before Terry Brock (Giant/Strangeways) brings proceedings to a close with the aggressive melodic rock of ‘One More Chance’.

‘Blind Faith’ is a phenomenal (pardon the pun) mix of hard hitting heavy rock, with gloriously bright melody lines and impassioned vocals from a stellar cast of musicians that makes for one of the surprise highlights of the year.

Steven Reid

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  February 2019  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
      1  2  3
  4  5  6  7  8  910

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 month, 1 week ago
  • Johns Band : Happy New year Everyone. Will the music film return.
  • Rocktopia Te : The Rocktopia Team would like to wish you a Merry Christmas! :)
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #85 is out now!
  • Berny : @Bill24: Please follow the instructions at «link» or contact me directly at «email»
  • Bill24 : I cannot unzip the mp3's asking for a password. Same one I use to login with? Please someone help. Thanks.
  • SeaDog57 : thanks Berny
  • Berny : The FREE PDF version of Fireworks #82 is still available, including 88 (!!) bonus MP3 songs Just click on the banner on top of the site. Already 800+ downloads and counting!
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: Apologies! Link was fixed, CD 84 is now available from the FIREWORKS menu on top of the page (for registered members only). Thanks & best wishes, B :)
  • SeaDog57 : Doesn't seem to be a download for bonus cd 84 just 2 identical versions of Bonus CD 83?
  • Rocktopia Te : Interviews with Lordi, Dee Snider, W.A.S.P., Myles Kennedy and many more. Check out the Fireworks & Rocktopia interview sections!
  • Berny : We are proud to premiere the new lyric video by MASS! Check out the news section.
  • Berny : Hi biggywiggymusic: Sorted out, apologies for the delay.
  • biggywiggymu : Hi I just ordered download of 84 - took my PayPal and then it said I didn't pay. Have the transaction number. Can someone help?
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #84 is out now!!
  • amcc1888 : Thanks Berny
  • Berny : @amcc1888: Please check your mail. Many thanks, B.
  • amcc1888 : Hi There i have ordered Fireworks Issue 83 and paid by PayPal but you have charged me twice but the download has not appeared in my account...also sent you a web contact message..anyone there to help me thanks Tony
  • Berny : We proudly present the new lyric video by AMERICAN TEARS, pls. check out our newsfeed!
  • Rocktopia Te : There are now 500 live reviews on Rocktopia! Check out the latest ones, incl. Iron Maiden, Steven Tyler and Steelhouse Festival 2018!
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Purchases were added to your account. Sorry for the troubles, not sure why you are still having issues with the DL store. Pls. check your mail. Many thanks & best wishes, B.
  • Transmet1972 : Sent another email re new purchase. Same download issue. Thanks.
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Support received your message, I already sent a reply.
  • Transmet1972 : Site wont allow me to send ticket to support.
  • Transmet1972 : I cant access the files for 2 downloadable mags i purchased. Site wint
  • Graham : Hi guys i wonder if anyone knows what happend to Greg Parker who formed the band Ozz that released 2 Lps in 1980,
  • Berny : HEAVEN'S TRAIL premiere their new lyric video on Rocktopia. Check out the news section ... «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : @Berny did another lyric video for ROYAL HUNT. Pls. check out our news aection and watch the video on YouTube ... «link»
  • Hysteria : @ Rocktopia Team: GREAT SONG & VIDEO!!! Thanks for sharing!
  • Rocktopia Te : EXCLUSIVE Guild Of Ages music video premiere! Check out «link» ! Did you like the video? Please send us your comments!
  • Berny : Check out the new live reviews: http;//

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site