DVD & Blu-ray Reviews

Todd Rundgren - 'An Evening With Todd Rundgren, Live At The Ridgefield' http://rocktopia.co.uk/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x200s/e5/fe/8f/todd-rundgren-an-evening-with-todd-rundgren-live-at-the-ridgefield-66-1482003942.jpg Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     December 17, 2016    
0.0 (0)
738   0   1   0   0   0

It's great to have a new Todd Rundgren set on DVD and accompanying CD after a spate of fuzzy archive releases.

Very rarely has there been an artist equally at home on stage or in the studio. Known mainly as a recording artist and record producer, Todd Rundgren must have amassed more tours (and subsequent DVD's!) than just about anyone else out there. Recent years have seen him playing brand new or classic albums in their entirety, touring with a string quartet, solo acoustic shows, re-uniting the original Todd Rundgren's Utopia from 1974 and even playing a show in Europe with an orchestra he hadn't met. Now here's a different concept for him; taking out his regular band members and playing an evening of his best known and loved songs! Will this concept catch on? Who knows?

Recorded at the Playhouse in Ridgefield, Connecticut (No, I hadn't heard of it either!), Rundgren, bassist Kasim Sulton (Utopia, Meatloaf), drummer Prairie Prince (The Tubes), keyboard player John Ferenzik and guitarist Jesse Gress are perhaps over-illuminated in white light on a stage with a background of the iconic photo from the gatefold of 1973's classic 'Something/Anything' double LP. To be honest Rundgren's voice is a little ropey at the beginning as he gets three of his more enduring songs out of the way early; his sole UK hit 'I Saw The Light', the difficult to sing on a good day 'Love Of The Common Man' and 'Open My Eyes' from his sixties band Nazz. It's been noted in recent years that Rundgren sings better when he puts the guitar down, so 'Sometimes I Don't Know How To Feel' is a huge improvement and he does a great job on the Rocking 'Black And White', even with the guitar. As always there are a few surprises in the set, perhaps none more than the Funky 'Love Science', a mesmerising 'Lost Horizon' and the mellow 'Soothe' from his latest album, 'Global'. Similarly, 'God Said' is Rundgren being preachy but cool, and his traditional soul medley is always a highlight vocally.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

As good a guitarist as Gress is, you always feel cheated whenever he does a solo as Rundgren is the master of tone and melody, shining on Rockers like 'Buffalo Grass', 'Black Maria' and the simple wonderful 'Secret Society', also adding great melodies to 'Determination', 'Drive' and Utopia's 'Love In Action'. Rundgren has a lot to thank Sulton for over the years, as well as being an exceptional bassist he harmonises many of the lead vocals and sings counterpoint, stepping up when Rundgren struggles on the throaty 'Couldn't I Just Tell You' and adding note-perfect tones to the encore of 'Can We Still Be Friends', 'Hello It's Me' and a triumphant 'One World'.

The sound is punchy without being perfect and a few mistakes have been left in, but visually it's a bit weird, with a line of dancing women in the front row obviously obscuring the view of everyone behind them in the small theatre. Also, my version seems to have a slight delay between sound and vision, particularly off-putting when watching Rundgren sing or Prince's precise drumming. However, it's great to have a new Todd Rundgren set on DVD and accompanying CD after a spate of fuzzy archive releases, even if it isn't the most comfortable this band have looked onstage.

Phil Ashcroft

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  March 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 6 days ago
  • Berny : GRAVE DIGGER exclusive UK video premiere of 'Lawbreaker'! Check out the news!
  • Berny : The new Fireworks section is now live! In the TOP MENU bar, please navigate to "Fireworks" - > "Fireworks Online" to read interviews with Eclipse, Tokyo Motor Fist, House Of Lords, Art Of Anarchy, Battle Beast & Monster Truck.
  • Berny : Many thanks Casper! :)
  • Casper : Thanks Berny ordered
  • Berny : @Casper @all: Fireworks Magazine #78 news item is now online, bonus interviews will follow this weekend. We have some interesting stuff coming in the next couple of days, including an album reviews special.
  • Casper : Berny
  • Casper : sorry Berny
  • Casper : Sorry Berny
  • Casper : Thanks Benny
  • Berny : @Casper: Fireworks 78 is already avaiable from the Mini % Donwload Stores on Rocktopia. The full press release as well as the updated FW section will be posted tomorrow. Thanks for your patience!
  • Casper : Fireworks 78 any news
  • Berny : @EDUARDVH: Thank you! :)
  • Hysteria : Great new reviews guys! :)
  • SeaDog57 : thanks Berny I sent the email
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: Please send a mail to «email»
  • SeaDog57 : Help!!! having trouble with Fireworks 77 download 7 Zip won't extract the files
  • Rocktopia Te : Listen to the new track by KOBRA AND THE LOTUS: Check out the News section!
  • Berny : 5500+ reviews on Rocktopia!
  • Berny : RIP John Wetton ... :..(
  • BERDOO : Awesome site, Thank you Nicky for the invite . BERDOO From San Bernardino Ca USA www.berdoo.com
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #75 & #76 are now available for FREE with DIRECT download links (no registration required). Check out the news or click on "FREE DOWNLOADS" in the top menu. Happy New Year! :)
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a healthy, happy and prosperous New Year! Many thanks for supporting Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia.
  • Rocktopia Te : Reviews update for December: 65 albums, 15 live shows, 15 DVDs & Blu - rays as well as 15 books. Almost 5500 reviews in total!
  • Berny : R.I.P. Carrie Fisher ... :..( How many more??
  • KI2000 : Let's raise a glass of Whatever You Want to a true legend!
  • Berny : R.I.P. Rick! :..(
  • Berny : Fireworks #77 is on sale now!
  • Gabby61 : Any plans to tour in the USA?

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us