DVD & Blu-ray Reviews

Saxon - 'Let Me Feel Your Power' http://rocktopia.co.uk/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x200s/d4/f7/24/saxon-let-me-feel-your-power-18-1482004085.jpg Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     December 17, 2016    
0.0 (0)
689   0   1   0   0   0





A great value package of music from one of our most treasured Heavy Metal bands.

With this being offered in a variety of formats – Blu-Ray/2CD, DVD/2CD, vinyl as well as digital download – there is something for all audio persuasions with the release of 'Let Me Feel Your Power' which is Saxon's tenth live release to date would you believe? Given the audio discs consist of effectively the same tracks, I decided to focus this review on the visual portion of this release.

Beginning with Munich show, it is clear Saxon are more than just a nostalgia act. The set touches on their recent releases 'Sacrifice' and 'Battering Ram' as well as classics like 'Motorcycle Man' and 'Heavy Metal Thunder'. The cameras capture all the sweat and atmosphere of a Saxon show in all its glory, in a venue that looks like an aircraft hangar full of crazy Heavy Metal maniacs. Singer Biff Byford truly defies his age vocally and physically as he head-bangs and screams out the lyrics in superb fashion. Fans throw old-school denim jackets on stage, emblazoned with patches and badges, only for the entire band to end up wearing them by the end of the show.

I am surprised Nigel Glocker's name does not come up more often when legendary Metal drummers are mentioned, his work during '20,000 Feet' and 'Power And The Glory' is thunderous in an effortless way. Sadly, there was no Saxon Eagle on display for this tour, something I feel was a missed opportunity considering this was for a video release.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

The Brighton show is in a small intimate venue and only features three songs, 'Eye Of The Storm', a monstrous 'Battalions Of Steel' and 'Requiem' which is dedicated to the late Lemmy Kilmister (Motörhead). It is a truly fitting tribute that all the fans in attendance seem to appreciate.

The Chicago show is lacking in both the picture quality and audience atmosphere compared to Munich. Unlike the crazy Germans and Brits of the previous shows, the American audiences just stand drinking their beer for the most part. Where it does succeed is in the more varied set-list, with old chestnuts like 'Backs To The Wall' are dusted down and delivered. 'Dallas 1PM,' featuring the twin guitars of Doug Scarrett and long-time member Paul Quinn, still raises the hairs on your neck. I especially enjoyed the seldom heard 'Rock The Nations' and the musically autobiographical 'Denim And Leather' which finally seem to awaken the sleepy US audience from their slumber.

Overall, this is a great value package of music from one of our most treasured Heavy Metal bands.

Ray Paul

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  March 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 6 days ago
  • Berny : GRAVE DIGGER exclusive UK video premiere of 'Lawbreaker'! Check out the news!
  • Berny : The new Fireworks section is now live! In the TOP MENU bar, please navigate to "Fireworks" - > "Fireworks Online" to read interviews with Eclipse, Tokyo Motor Fist, House Of Lords, Art Of Anarchy, Battle Beast & Monster Truck.
  • Berny : Many thanks Casper! :)
  • Casper : Thanks Berny ordered
  • Berny : @Casper @all: Fireworks Magazine #78 news item is now online, bonus interviews will follow this weekend. We have some interesting stuff coming in the next couple of days, including an album reviews special.
  • Casper : Berny
  • Casper : sorry Berny
  • Casper : Sorry Berny
  • Casper : Thanks Benny
  • Berny : @Casper: Fireworks 78 is already avaiable from the Mini % Donwload Stores on Rocktopia. The full press release as well as the updated FW section will be posted tomorrow. Thanks for your patience!
  • Casper : Fireworks 78 any news
  • Berny : @EDUARDVH: Thank you! :)
  • Hysteria : Great new reviews guys! :)
  • SeaDog57 : thanks Berny I sent the email
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: Please send a mail to «email»
  • SeaDog57 : Help!!! having trouble with Fireworks 77 download 7 Zip won't extract the files
  • Rocktopia Te : Listen to the new track by KOBRA AND THE LOTUS: Check out the News section!
  • Berny : 5500+ reviews on Rocktopia!
  • Berny : RIP John Wetton ... :..(
  • BERDOO : Awesome site, Thank you Nicky for the invite . BERDOO From San Bernardino Ca USA www.berdoo.com
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #75 & #76 are now available for FREE with DIRECT download links (no registration required). Check out the news or click on "FREE DOWNLOADS" in the top menu. Happy New Year! :)
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a healthy, happy and prosperous New Year! Many thanks for supporting Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia.
  • Rocktopia Te : Reviews update for December: 65 albums, 15 live shows, 15 DVDs & Blu - rays as well as 15 books. Almost 5500 reviews in total!
  • Berny : R.I.P. Carrie Fisher ... :..( How many more??
  • KI2000 : Let's raise a glass of Whatever You Want to a true legend!
  • Berny : R.I.P. Rick! :..(
  • Berny : Fireworks #77 is on sale now!
  • Gabby61 : Any plans to tour in the USA?

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us