Book & Magazine Reviews

Martin Popoff - 'Kickstart My Heart: A Mötley Crüe Day-By-Day' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     December 18, 2016    
276   0   1   0   0   0

A discerning professional view on an influential but slightly inconsistent band.

Published by: Backbeat Books

Martin Popoff has written the third in his Backbeat Books series of day-by-day books; following earlier subject matters Iron Maiden and Ozzy Osbourne, this one is about Mӧtley Crüe. The format is simple; a chronology of the band starting from the births of the band members (Mick Mars is the oldest by over seven years), lots of quotes from the band members and most importantly lots of photos. The photos are of the band members themselves but also include flyers, ticket stubs and backstage passes – so this book is a real collectable.

Popoff is at pains to say in the introduction that although not whitewashing the "dirt" side of the band, this book is really about the music. So the various "non-music" episodes of the band are told in a more matter-of-fact style than in other tomes about the band.

As always, Popoff's book is very informative; I learnt the misspelling of the band name is a homage to Slade and that WWF/E star The Undertaker is a fan of the Crüe. Also, Mars's AS (Ankylosing Spondylitis) condition is covered; described by Mars as an inconvenience – he can still play the guitar but cannot drive as he is now unable to move his neck around for example.

This style of book makes for an easy read that you can dip in and out of; Popoff's essay on each decade of the Mӧtley Crüe's thirty-five year career contains his views on the music highs and lows. This is not just a fan's over-enthusiastic view of a band but more a discerning professional view on an influential but slightly inconsistent band.

Rob McKenzie

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

Share this on the web.

Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  March 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 4 days, 3 hours ago
  • Berny : GRAVE DIGGER exclusive UK video premiere of 'Lawbreaker'! Check out the news!
  • Berny : The new Fireworks section is now live! In the TOP MENU bar, please navigate to "Fireworks" - > "Fireworks Online" to read interviews with Eclipse, Tokyo Motor Fist, House Of Lords, Art Of Anarchy, Battle Beast & Monster Truck.
  • Berny : Many thanks Casper! :)
  • Casper : Thanks Berny ordered
  • Berny : @Casper @all: Fireworks Magazine #78 news item is now online, bonus interviews will follow this weekend. We have some interesting stuff coming in the next couple of days, including an album reviews special.
  • Casper : Berny
  • Casper : sorry Berny
  • Casper : Sorry Berny
  • Casper : Thanks Benny
  • Berny : @Casper: Fireworks 78 is already avaiable from the Mini % Donwload Stores on Rocktopia. The full press release as well as the updated FW section will be posted tomorrow. Thanks for your patience!
  • Casper : Fireworks 78 any news
  • Berny : @EDUARDVH: Thank you! :)
  • Hysteria : Great new reviews guys! :)
  • SeaDog57 : thanks Berny I sent the email
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: Please send a mail to «email»
  • SeaDog57 : Help!!! having trouble with Fireworks 77 download 7 Zip won't extract the files
  • Rocktopia Te : Listen to the new track by KOBRA AND THE LOTUS: Check out the News section!
  • Berny : 5500+ reviews on Rocktopia!
  • Berny : RIP John Wetton ... :..(
  • BERDOO : Awesome site, Thank you Nicky for the invite . BERDOO From San Bernardino Ca USA
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #75 & #76 are now available for FREE with DIRECT download links (no registration required). Check out the news or click on "FREE DOWNLOADS" in the top menu. Happy New Year! :)
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a healthy, happy and prosperous New Year! Many thanks for supporting Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia.
  • Rocktopia Te : Reviews update for December: 65 albums, 15 live shows, 15 DVDs & Blu - rays as well as 15 books. Almost 5500 reviews in total!
  • Berny : R.I.P. Carrie Fisher ... :..( How many more??
  • KI2000 : Let's raise a glass of Whatever You Want to a true legend!
  • Berny : R.I.P. Rick! :..(
  • Berny : Fireworks #77 is on sale now!
  • Gabby61 : Any plans to tour in the USA?

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us