Concert Reviews

Touchstone / Heather Findlay Band Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     January 31, 2017    
0.0 (0)
1744   0   1   0   0   0


Touchstone / Heather Findlay Band - The Borderline, London (UK) - 17 December 2016

So, we got our first look at the new iteration of Touchstone with Aggie Figurska and Liam Holmes replacing Kim Seviour and Rob Cottingham on vocals and keyboards respectively. In addition, bassist Paul Moorghen has assumed Rob Cottingham's vocal duties. There was a decently sized audience on hand to check out this revised line-up despite the gig clashing with a possible counter attraction of IQ just up the road. Having witnessed a poor vocal performance from IQ at the Summer's End Festival there was never a doubt that I'd be anywhere but at this event.

First up was Heather Findlay and the acoustic version of her band and as always they produced a very pleasant set of well played and ethereal music, which for once didn't lean on her previous association with Mostly Autumn but concentrated on her solo material. As discussed with friends post-set, what we'd heard was perfectly enjoyable but a little samey with many of the songs having a similar pace and vibe. Ironically, the standout moment was the cover of Steeleye Span's Christmas A Capella hit from the seventies 'Gaudete' which the band performed superbly.

My aversion to heavily accented vocals is well documented and with a Polish singer there is always that concern, however on first evidence Figurska isn't afflicted in this way; what a relief?

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

The Rocktopia website uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our privacy policy.

I accept cookies from this site.
EU Cookie Directive plugin by

From that moment the band arrived on stage you could tell that they've gone up a notch or two on the heaviness graph, there was more attack and power than hitherto. There were indications they were moving in this direction with their last album, 'Oceans Of Time', so it came as no surprise. It was clear Figurska has the voice, she has the moves and she has the presence, her hair twirling antics only added to the perception of higher energy. Keyboardist Holmes was no slouch either and he seemed to have slotted in very nicely.

Unsurprisingly, the majority of the set consisted of tracks from their most recent albums with the aforementioned 'Oceans...', 'The City Sleeps' and 'Wintercoast' being well represented and the question was how would Figurska handle the back catalogue? The answer was, with great aplomb, gusto and obvious skill. Clearly her recruitment was well thought through and she seemed to be a perfect choice.

What about the new songs? All three from their 'Lights From The Sky' EP were aired tonight and there was no doubt that these were quality, they fitted seamlessly into the band's canon of work and this bodes well for the next album. The tribute to the recently departed Greg Lake during the 'Christmas Medley' was very well done and the encores rounded out the show in fine style.

Gary Marshall

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  April 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  2  3  4  5  6  7  8

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 weeks ago
  • Rocktopia Te : There are now 6000 album reviews on Rocktopia!
  • Berny : Saxon, Gizmodrome, Skid Row, Night Ranger, Magnum, Joe Bonamassa & many more! Check out the latest LIVE reviews on Rocktopia! «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Two news interviews in the Rocktopia Interviews Section: LITTLE CAESAR & GEISHAS IN VITRO. Enjoy! :) «link»
  • Berny : Fireworks #82 is our now! Check out the free interviews with Royal Hunt, Stryper, Kamelot, James Christian, Signal Red & Animal Drive!
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Many thanks for your purchase! Your copy will be sent to your registered address this week.
  • Johns Band : I paid for Fireworks 82 Magazine, when will it be sent. Best Regards - John
  • Berny : @Rob: Done! :)
  • robmckenzie : Hi Bernie, urgent change please. In the Moonkings concert review - please replace "the original John Syke's one" with "obviously his sublime '1987' album version"
  • Berny : Anyway, we posted 90+ album & live reviews in February. Please enjoy & share!
  • Rocktopia Te : Don't trigger CEB, you know what will happen ....
  • Berny : None that I am aware of ... BRUCE??? :D ;)
  • Hysteria : @ Berny: So no adult toys in the Rocktopis shop?? :D
  • Berny : Apologies for the "Shout Here" spammers. We'll take care of this issue asap.
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


The Rocktopia website uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our privacy policy.

I accept cookies from this site.
EU Cookie Directive plugin by