Concert Reviews

Tyketto Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     January 31, 2017    
0.0 (0)
431   0   1   0   0   0



Tyketto - O2 Academy, Liverpool (UK) - 21 January 2017

2016's UK Tour (with Dan Reed Network) was a 25th Anniversary celebration of the seminal 'Don't Come Easy' album and saw every song played, in reverse order (for obvious reasons). Despite being released towards the end of 2017, the 'Reach' album was met with critical appraisal and made many Top 5's in the Fireworks playlists. This current tour was re-scheduled due to personal issues, so the crowd was more than eager when the intro tape began and the high temperatures in the room managed to get even higher.

'Kick Like A Mule' opened up and did just that, setting the tone for the next one hundred minutes. What is apparent is that the newer songs, as in your face as they may come across when listening to the album, have a bigger impact in the live environment. The set is a great mix of old and new and covers pretty much all the back catalogue. The big surprise is the inclusion of 'Let It Go', from the 'Shine' album, the one that Danny Vaughn did not sing on. Every song is appreciated in the same way. Classics and new songs sit nicely next to each other, as though from the same era. It is hard to believe that some are twenty-five years older than others as the vibe and resonance is just the same.

The rejuvenated line-up is now settled and everyone seems more than comfortable with each other on stage. Bass player Chris Childs unassuming persona belies the role he plays and he is locked in tight with drummer Michael Clayton Arbeeny. Ged Rylands recruitment was an inspired move. Not only does he add some great keyboard touches that enhance the sound but his backing vocals add more depth. Guitarist Chris Green is a perfect fit for the band and he has fantastic versatility.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

He knows what makes these such loved songs and interprets them in his own way without deviating too far from how they were originally arranged. I think every superlative has been used for front-man Danny Vaughn. He engages naturally and sings effortlessly. His voice and presence is as good now as it was when the band first came to prominence and it is clear he still has a passion, hunger and love for what he does.

The 'Don't Come Easy' material such as 'Wings', 'Burning Down Inside' and 'Lay Your Body Down' will always have a place in a Tyketto show but the likes of 'Reach', 'Big Money' and 'I Need It Now' may be hard to displace. 'Strength In Numbers' is represented by 'Rescue Me', 'Meet Me In The Night' and 'Catch My Fall' and 'Faithless', from the 'Dig In Deep' CD was another well-chosen number. Hairs on the back of the neck were all present and correct during a spell-binding version of 'Standing Alone', a timeless song that is both inspirational and heartfelt. There will always be only one way to finish the set and I guess as long as I keep hearing it I will always feel 'Forever Young'.

I was fortunate enough to watch the whole show from the photo pit, mainly because once in there it was impossible to get out, but I'm sure my impressions and thoughts would have been the same wherever my location. As long as Tyketto keep touring I'll keep going. Fantastic.

Dave Bott

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  April 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
       1  2
  3  4  5  6  7  8  9

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 3 days, 11 hours ago
  • LeChef : Thumbs up!!!
  • Central Elec : Five new live reviews!
  • Hysteria : Wow! GREAT Abums! What a fantastic read!!! Kudos to you guys for including an album review by "The Hoff". KITT will love it!!! : - )
  • Central Elec : Landmark reviews 4991 - 5000 are online
  • Berny : Landmark reviews 4981 - 4990 are online, have fun! :)
  • Central Elec : Landmark Album Reviews 4971 - 4980 are online.
  • Berny : Check out our EXCLUSIVE interview with AndrĂ© Andersen of ROYAL HUNT!
  • Berny : More information can be found here: «link»
  • Berny : @moorby_vj_li: Many thanks for your purchase. If you bought a physical copy of the magazine, you can download the bonus disc from the menu on top (Fireworks - > Bonus CD 77).
  • moorby_vj_li : Hi All, I have purchased Issue 77 but can not see a link to download the music, where would I go, thank you in advance
  • Berny : GRAVE DIGGER exclusive UK video premiere of 'Lawbreaker'! Check out the news!
  • Berny : The new Fireworks section is now live! In the TOP MENU bar, please navigate to "Fireworks" - > "Fireworks Online" to read interviews with Eclipse, Tokyo Motor Fist, House Of Lords, Art Of Anarchy, Battle Beast & Monster Truck.
  • Berny : Many thanks Casper! :)
  • Casper : Thanks Berny ordered
  • Berny : @Casper @all: Fireworks Magazine #78 news item is now online, bonus interviews will follow this weekend. We have some interesting stuff coming in the next couple of days, including an album reviews special.
  • Casper : Berny
  • Casper : sorry Berny
  • Casper : Sorry Berny
  • Casper : Thanks Benny
  • Berny : @Casper: Fireworks 78 is already avaiable from the Mini % Donwload Stores on Rocktopia. The full press release as well as the updated FW section will be posted tomorrow. Thanks for your patience!
  • Casper : Fireworks 78 any news
  • Berny : @EDUARDVH: Thank you! :)
  • Hysteria : Great new reviews guys! :)
  • SeaDog57 : thanks Berny I sent the email
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: Please send a mail to «email»
  • SeaDog57 : Help!!! having trouble with Fireworks 77 download 7 Zip won't extract the files
  • Rocktopia Te : Listen to the new track by KOBRA AND THE LOTUS: Check out the News section!
  • Berny : 5500+ reviews on Rocktopia!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us