CD Reviews

One Less Reason - 'The Memories Uninvited' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     February 13, 2017    
0.0 (0)
1053   0   1   0   0   0


After a short-lived contract with Universal in 2003, the Memphis/Jacksonville band's existence has been entirely independent. 2010's 'Faces & Four Letter Words' hit number one on the Billboard Heat-Seekers Chart despite being on the band's own label. It is therefore safe to say that despite their independent status, One Less Reason have a huge following; the album went on to sell four hundred thousand units.

In lead singer Cris Brown, the band has an undoubted song-writing talent and 'The Memories Uninvited' realises the full potential of that and as a result it's emphatically the band's best album to date. '...Uninvited' was two years in the making, with Brown acquiring the Kiva recording studio and the House Of Blues recording studio in Memphis in 2014 and setting up the new home for his label 'Tattooed Millionaire'. Brown admits that budgetary constraints in the past meant that he was never able to make the album that he wanted to. Free of those shackles, OLR has produced an album that runs the whole gamut of the Modern Rock genre and gives their major label cohorts, such as Shinedown, a run for their money.

With enough hooks and melody to keep the mainstream on board, OLR seem equally happy churning out the thudding Modern Rock of 'Break Me' as they are defining the Southern Modern Rock genre with songs like the acoustic 'Rainmaker' or the emotive balladry of 'You Didn't Know' with its 'Stairway To Heaven' style guitar solo.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

The Rocktopia website uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our privacy policy.

I accept cookies from this site.
EU Cookie Directive plugin by

Brown's varied vocal timbre transforms the songs on offer into something rather special; 'Something Beautiful' and 'Sometimes' are obvious singles with the gentle verse giving way to the achingly melodic chorus and yet the less "obvious" material holds its own without the album breaking stride. Whether it's 'Time' with its layered spoken verse approach, the piano sprinkled Pop of 'The Lie' or the slow burning gem of the Journey-tinged 'One Day', this album is chock full of brilliant songs.

'The Memories Uninvited' belligerently thumbs its nose at those who say Rock music is dead and even though the adage says that it's the singer not the song, One Less Reason combines the two in a perfect symbiosis. Brilliant.

Mike Newdeck

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  April 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  2  3  4  5  6  7  8

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 week, 6 days ago
  • Rocktopia Te : There are now 6000 album reviews on Rocktopia!
  • Berny : Saxon, Gizmodrome, Skid Row, Night Ranger, Magnum, Joe Bonamassa & many more! Check out the latest LIVE reviews on Rocktopia! «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Two news interviews in the Rocktopia Interviews Section: LITTLE CAESAR & GEISHAS IN VITRO. Enjoy! :) «link»
  • Berny : Fireworks #82 is our now! Check out the free interviews with Royal Hunt, Stryper, Kamelot, James Christian, Signal Red & Animal Drive!
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Many thanks for your purchase! Your copy will be sent to your registered address this week.
  • Johns Band : I paid for Fireworks 82 Magazine, when will it be sent. Best Regards - John
  • Berny : @Rob: Done! :)
  • robmckenzie : Hi Bernie, urgent change please. In the Moonkings concert review - please replace "the original John Syke's one" with "obviously his sublime '1987' album version"
  • Berny : Anyway, we posted 90+ album & live reviews in February. Please enjoy & share!
  • Rocktopia Te : Don't trigger CEB, you know what will happen ....
  • Berny : None that I am aware of ... BRUCE??? :D ;)
  • Hysteria : @ Berny: So no adult toys in the Rocktopis shop?? :D
  • Berny : Apologies for the "Shout Here" spammers. We'll take care of this issue asap.
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


The Rocktopia website uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our privacy policy.

I accept cookies from this site.
EU Cookie Directive plugin by