CD Reviews

Leon Alvarado - 'The Future Left Behind' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     February 24, 2017    
0.0 (0)
499   0   1   0   0   0

An interesting album which benefits from a superb overall sound thanks to ex-Pink Floyd engineer Andy Jackson.

Luckily for me, our Reviews Editor has got my tastes pegged down to a tee! I'll readily admit that I'd not previously heard of multi-instrumentalist keyboard player Leon Alvarado, however, our esteemed Ed had noticed that Billy Sherwood (a favourite of mine) played on this album and, before you know it, said album is being posted through my letterbox.

According to Alvarado, the idea of creating a concept album out of instrumental Progressive Rock music had appealed to him ever since he heard Rick Wakeman's 'Journey To The Centre Of The Earth'. 'The Future Left Behind' is the fourth album from Alvarado, someone who has previously worked with John Goodsall (Brand X), Bill Bruford (Yes), Trey Gunn (King Crimson) and Jerry Marotta (Peter Gabriel) to name but a few.

The story is set around a time when the planet Earth is decaying due to excess pollution, over-population and the stripping of its natural resources (sound familiar?). The solution (for the more fortunate) is to leave the planet for a better life. There are two perspectives as to what is going on; firstly, there is narration from Canadian Steve Thamer and secondly, there is a more personal viewpoint contained within the album booklet.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

'...Behind' kicks off with 'Launch Overture', which has the aforementioned Wakeman guesting on Moog and some fine guitar work by Sherwood. 'Weightless' has an Eastern-flavoured sound and is Jazzy in places. 'The Ones Left Behind' is a powerful track with pounding keyboards and, needless to say, Sherwood adds more intricate lead guitar; it also has a Classical element to it. 'Among The Stars' has a Space Rock feel along with a neat kind of groove.

'In Our Quiet Orbit' again has a Classical feel in places and, at other times, is dark and atmospheric. 'To Be Loved' is a beautiful acoustic piece featuring ex-CIRCA: member Johnny Bruhns and at points sounds like Steve Howe's 'Mood For A Day'.

I won't spoil the end of the story for our readers/listeners, all I will say is that album closer 'The Star Seekers' is another powerful Space Rock jam. 'The Future Left Behind' is an interesting album which benefits from a superb overall sound thanks to ex-Pink Floyd engineer Andy Jackson. Give it a listen!

Az Chaudhry

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  June 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 5 days, 20 hours ago
  • Berny : Fireworks #79 out now! Ye Banished Privateers video premiere! 14000 words interview with Harem Scarem! New album and live reviews!
  • Rocktopia Te : 20 new album and 10 new live reviews!
  • Berny : Thanks Rob, review was updated!
  • rocktopiarob : Hi in the Bad For Good review - please replace "Rundgren's absurdly genius guitar playing" with "Davey Johnstone's absurdly genius guitar playing"
  • LeChef : Thumbs up!!!
  • Central Elec : Five new live reviews!
  • Hysteria : Wow! GREAT Abums! What a fantastic read!!! Kudos to you guys for including an album review by "The Hoff". KITT will love it!!! : - )
  • Central Elec : Landmark reviews 4991 - 5000 are online
  • Berny : Landmark reviews 4981 - 4990 are online, have fun! :)
  • Central Elec : Landmark Album Reviews 4971 - 4980 are online.
  • Berny : Check out our EXCLUSIVE interview with AndrĂ© Andersen of ROYAL HUNT!
  • Berny : More information can be found here: «link»
  • Berny : @moorby_vj_li: Many thanks for your purchase. If you bought a physical copy of the magazine, you can download the bonus disc from the menu on top (Fireworks - > Bonus CD 77).
  • moorby_vj_li : Hi All, I have purchased Issue 77 but can not see a link to download the music, where would I go, thank you in advance
  • Berny : GRAVE DIGGER exclusive UK video premiere of 'Lawbreaker'! Check out the news!
  • Berny : The new Fireworks section is now live! In the TOP MENU bar, please navigate to "Fireworks" - > "Fireworks Online" to read interviews with Eclipse, Tokyo Motor Fist, House Of Lords, Art Of Anarchy, Battle Beast & Monster Truck.
  • Berny : Many thanks Casper! :)
  • Casper : Thanks Berny ordered
  • Berny : @Casper @all: Fireworks Magazine #78 news item is now online, bonus interviews will follow this weekend. We have some interesting stuff coming in the next couple of days, including an album reviews special.
  • Casper : Berny
  • Casper : sorry Berny
  • Casper : Sorry Berny
  • Casper : Thanks Benny
  • Berny : @Casper: Fireworks 78 is already avaiable from the Mini % Donwload Stores on Rocktopia. The full press release as well as the updated FW section will be posted tomorrow. Thanks for your patience!
  • Casper : Fireworks 78 any news
  • Berny : @EDUARDVH: Thank you! :)
  • Hysteria : Great new reviews guys! :)
  • SeaDog57 : thanks Berny I sent the email

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us