CD Reviews

Niva - 'Atmospherical'

Added by Central Electronic Brain     February 24, 2017    
0.0 (0)
198   0   1   0   0   0






Definitely an album worth investigating - just don't expect "pink and fluffy".

'Atmospherical' is Niva's sixth studio album and since 1994 they have manufactured music that has been well received in the AOR/Melodic Rock community. Despite each successive album becoming increasingly more cultured, however, they have never quite hit the heights I'm sure they've been constantly craving for. Maybe this is the album that could possibly recruit more admirers and promote them to the Premiership of this genre. Having said that, some musical alterations have been made, thus making 'Atmospherical' something of a risk. Founding member and vocalist Tony Niva remarks in the album's bio, "I wanted to broaden my horizons. Different production, a heavier sound". So for those of you expecting a comfortable mix of AOR/Melodic Rock tunes with instantly catchy choruses, just be prepared.

Tony Niva is joined here by his old compatriot and renowned producer Lars Chriss (guitars, drums). Both musicians worked closely together in Lion's Share, a Swedish Melodic Metal band with over two decades under their belt. Interestingly, Chriss has produced acts that include Overland, Chris Ousey, Radioactive and Seven, so it stands to reason that melody would not be forsaken altogether. Completing the band is Andy Loos (bass) and Kay Backlund (keys) with additional support from Fredrik Bergh (keys). Interestingly, Nigel Bailey (Bailey, Three Lions, Lifeline) assists with backing vocals.

Unlike previous Niva albums, I initially struggled with 'Atmospherical'. It is undoubtedly heavier and the melodies and choruses are certainly not as immediate. But I suggest if you give it time (as you should always do) you might just be rewarded.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

Opening track 'Dressed To Kill' perfectly portrays the new parameters the band are working within. It's an up-tempo, highly-charged Melodic Rock song that verges on Melodic Metal – the keyboards aren't as prominent but they are, at times, Symphonic in nature and temper the intensity somewhat. Tony Niva's vocal range has always been impressive but throughout 'Atmospherical' he soars to altitudes that are, well, stratospheric, even on occasion a little too discerning for my delicate ears. 'Spirit Of The Night', 'Evil Rose', 'Raise Your Voice', Play Our Songs' and 'Wall Of Bricks' all continue this trend.

Thankfully (for me at least), interspersed throughout this "new" sound are some traditional Niva songs. 'Deja Vu', 'Forbidden Lover' and 'The Mountain' are beautifully crafted and epitomise all that we yearn for from a great Melodic Rock tune.

Definitely an album worth investigating – just don't expect "pink and fluffy".

Dave Crompton

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  March 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 16 hours, 31 minutes ago
  • Berny : GRAVE DIGGER exclusive UK video premiere of 'Lawbreaker'! Check out the news!
  • Berny : The new Fireworks section is now live! In the TOP MENU bar, please navigate to "Fireworks" - > "Fireworks Online" to read interviews with Eclipse, Tokyo Motor Fist, House Of Lords, Art Of Anarchy, Battle Beast & Monster Truck.
  • Berny : Many thanks Casper! :)
  • Casper : Thanks Berny ordered
  • Berny : @Casper @all: Fireworks Magazine #78 news item is now online, bonus interviews will follow this weekend. We have some interesting stuff coming in the next couple of days, including an album reviews special.
  • Casper : Berny
  • Casper : sorry Berny
  • Casper : Sorry Berny
  • Casper : Thanks Benny
  • Berny : @Casper: Fireworks 78 is already avaiable from the Mini % Donwload Stores on Rocktopia. The full press release as well as the updated FW section will be posted tomorrow. Thanks for your patience!
  • Casper : Fireworks 78 any news
  • Berny : @EDUARDVH: Thank you! :)
  • Hysteria : Great new reviews guys! :)
  • SeaDog57 : thanks Berny I sent the email
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: Please send a mail to «email»
  • SeaDog57 : Help!!! having trouble with Fireworks 77 download 7 Zip won't extract the files
  • Rocktopia Te : Listen to the new track by KOBRA AND THE LOTUS: Check out the News section!
  • Berny : 5500+ reviews on Rocktopia!
  • Berny : RIP John Wetton ... :..(
  • BERDOO : Awesome site, Thank you Nicky for the invite . BERDOO From San Bernardino Ca USA
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #75 & #76 are now available for FREE with DIRECT download links (no registration required). Check out the news or click on "FREE DOWNLOADS" in the top menu. Happy New Year! :)
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a healthy, happy and prosperous New Year! Many thanks for supporting Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia.
  • Rocktopia Te : Reviews update for December: 65 albums, 15 live shows, 15 DVDs & Blu - rays as well as 15 books. Almost 5500 reviews in total!
  • Berny : R.I.P. Carrie Fisher ... :..( How many more??
  • KI2000 : Let's raise a glass of Whatever You Want to a true legend!
  • Berny : R.I.P. Rick! :..(
  • Berny : Fireworks #77 is on sale now!
  • Gabby61 : Any plans to tour in the USA?

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us